• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Lightroom CC won't open - corrupt catalog

Regan Kilpatrick

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
7
Location
New Zealand & San Diego, California
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I have just decided to get the Adobe Creative Cloud and it seemed to be installing fine. Adobe Creative Cloud App installed onto my computer then I installed Lightroom.

When I try open lightroom, its asks me to select a catalog, there's one option so I select it. I then get a message saying "The Lightroom catalog "Lightroom Catalog" is corrupt and cannot be used or backed up until it is repaired".

I select "repair catalog"

It loads for about a second then a message appears saying "Lightroom encountered problems reading or writing from disk when attempting to repair "lightroom Catalog""

When I select "try again" I get the same message.

Any suggestions??

Thanks for the help!
Regan
 

Attachments

  • upload_2016-8-6_12-29-55.png
    upload_2016-8-6_12-29-55.png
    254.8 KB · Views: 457

Regan Kilpatrick

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
7
Location
New Zealand & San Diego, California
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
What version of Lightroom did you use before? Lightroom should ask you to upgrade the catalog if you used a previous version. Do you make backups?...
I had Lightroom 6 (the stand alone version) before I decided to go ahead and get Creative Cloud as I wanted to start using photoshop aswell. No I hadn't been making backups in Lightroom 6.

Sorry, I'm not the best with these kinds of things!
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,251
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
As your computer probably contains more valuable stuff than just a Lightroom catalog and images, I strongly advise you to buy an external disk and start making general backups. Remember that Lightroom can only backup the catalog, it never backs up your images. And it obviously doesn't backup anything else, like your address book, your email or whatever.

As Lightroom gives you an error saying it can't read or write to the disk, you may be lucky. Maybe the catalog is not corrupted, but somehow the catalog folder got locked. Try copying the catalog to a different folder, and see if Lightroom can open that one without giving you the same error.
 

Regan Kilpatrick

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
7
Location
New Zealand & San Diego, California
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
As your computer probably contains more valuable stuff than just a Lightroom catalog and images, I strongly advise you to buy an external disk and start making general backups. Remember that Lightroom can only backup the catalog, it never backs up your images. And it obviously doesn't backup anything else, like your address book, your email or whatever.

As Lightroom gives you an error saying it can't read or write to the disk, you may be lucky. Maybe the catalog is not corrupted, but somehow the catalog folder got locked. Try copying the catalog to a different folder, and see if Lightroom can open that one without giving you the same error.
Thanks for the advice! I do have an external hard drive that I backup on to but I had never backed up my Lightroom catalog onto it.

I tried doing that and it came up with an error message saying "the Lightroom catalog cannot be opened because it is not valid".
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,251
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
That's bad. Victoria has a contact at Adobe that can sometimes repair a corrupt catalog, so perhaps she can help. Otherwise, you just learned the hard way why making backups is a vital part of computing, I'm afraid.
 

Regan Kilpatrick

New Member
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
7
Location
New Zealand & San Diego, California
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
That's bad. Victoria has a contact at Adobe that can sometimes repair a corrupt catalog, so perhaps she can help. Otherwise, you just learned the hard way why making backups is a vital part of computing, I'm afraid.
I just saw her Lightroom Quick Start Guide... I wish I had red this earlier!! Only myself to blame for that. Do you know how I could get in contact with her? Thanks so much for your help.
 
Top