• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

Lightroom CC Issues after Install – For Windows Users

Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,456
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
If you are a Windows user and are having issues with the new Subscription LRCC app after successfully installing , Please post your issue here and we will attempt to resolve and post a Solution. Before adding your issue to this thread, please review the previous posts (especially any posted Solutions) before adding your item to this thread.
 

Rose Weir

Active Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
293
Location
Chesley Ontario Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
1. LrCC app installed, would not run.
2. Install log indicated it was not a licensed version
3. I have been on a subscription now into the 2nd year
Uninstalling and downloading again produced a Trial version for 30 days.
Uninstalled everything
Went to my Adobe Id account and there is no evidence of a subscription
The subscription plan was not there before I uninstalled everything included the CC manager.
Adobe Contact is not available. The message says to go to the Forums.
I have run out of ideas how to contact Adobe to inquire about the subscription.
It will be totally irony if the 'invoice' arrives shortly indicating the credit card has been billed.

Ran the V6 trial and it is snappy. My video card didn't fit the specifications so I downloaded the latest before Beta AMD Radeon 7 200 drivers.
At this point I'm inclined to get the stand alone as an upgrade to my V5.7 and forget about the subscription routine.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Rose, suggest you uninstall your CC Desktop app (and any versions of LR6/CC that you have installed), then run the Adobe CC Cleaner, then download the CC app again, and hopefully that will allow you to download and install the correct CC versions of LR and PS.

See here for the CC Cleaner download and instructions: https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-suite/kb/cs5-cleaner-tool-installation-problems.html

But if you're having problems with your account/subscription, you'll need to contact Adobe directly.....try posting in the feedback site using the links at the top on the page.
 

gzak

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
3
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Hi Everyone!
I've installed LR CC 2 days ago and everything is ok except HDR Merge...
First problem: I try to merge 2 or 3 RAW files from Olympus E-M10 into HDR.
When I disable "auto tone" checkbox I get completely black image :(

Second: E-M10 has sensor with 4:3 aspect ratio, but in camera settings I have set 3:2.
RAW file contains all data from sensor (4:3) and information about crop to 3:2. In Lightroom, after importing everything is ok - there are images 4/3 cropped to 3/2 (I can modify crop in crop tool)
The problem is with merging such images into HDR. After merge output image is distorted - has wrong aspect ratio. HDR tool takes all data from 4/3 file and create 3/2 image :/



Grzegorz
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,456
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Grzegorzm Welcome to the forum, the in camera crop aspect ratio only affected in camera JPEGs With RAW, the full sensor is always recorded and saved. Once LR has demosaic'd and converted your RAW data to RGB the full image will be displayed. In Develop, the crop tool defaults to the "Original" crop ratio which is the full sensor pixels. Another aspect ratio option in the Crop tool is "As Shot". This option should read the aspect ratio chose in the camera and written to the EXIF of the file and apply this.

I do not understand the "
disable "auto tone" checkbox I get completely black image" Are you applying autotone on import or as a develop preset? Can you post a screen shot of the basic panel and of the image both before and after the "disable "auto tone" checkbox"?
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,660
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hi Grzegorz

I can reproduce the squashed crop on the EM10, thanks - I'll bug that.

I can't reproduce the black preview - would it be possible to send me the bracketed files using www.wetransfer.com to mail AT lightroomqueen DOT com and I'll try to repro that one too.
 

niceguyhomer

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Hi, can you please help a noob - I got a year's subscription to CC through work. I downloaded the latest versions of LR (5.7.1) and PS and all was going well until this morning when I received a message telling me there was an update. I downloaded what I thought was the update and found another version on my computer - Adobe LR CC telling me that I have 29 days of the Lightroom Mobile trial left. So I uninstalled LR and tried again - same problem. Will it self destruct in 29 days or will it ask for the key which I already have from the original install?
 

Rose Weir

Active Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2008
Messages
293
Location
Chesley Ontario Canada
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Re:Rose, suggest you uninstall your CC Desktop app (and any versions of LR6/CC that you have installed),

Yes I did all that including the CC Cleaner. I did get contact with a CHAT for the account but I was transferred over to a Tech. It was successful.
There was a wipe out of my subscription status possibly when the CC updated on its own yesterday. I was recorded as a free user with a 30 day trial. Photoshop stayed intact but Lightroom would not open and when it did it was a trial.
The tech did edits to my account and had me delete the OOBE and the AM updater since I had re downloaded Lightroom. Now I start again with downloading Photoshop.
It is a very slow process on that CHAT system and too many repetitiions of the same facts. It was not simple to relay the information that my account had been wiped out.
Things appear to be solved at the moment.

With this new routine of having the CC manager in place for stand alone can create a confusion for anyone with a subscription...or vice versa. People can interpret this incorrectly.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi, can you please help a noob - I got a year's subscription to CC through work. I downloaded the latest versions of LR (5.7.1) and PS and all was going well until this morning when I received a message telling me there was an update. I downloaded what I thought was the update and found another version on my computer - Adobe LR CC telling me that I have 29 days of the Lightroom Mobile trial left. So I uninstalled LR and tried again - same problem. Will it self destruct in 29 days or will it ask for the key which I already have from the original install?
If you have a subscription, you shouldn't be downloading things yourself.....the CC desktop app (which you should have installed on the system) is what you use to manage downloads and installs. So:

1. Confirm you have the CC desktop app installed.
2. Uninstall the Lightroom version that you downloaded.
3. Sign out of the CC Desktop App (using the proper sign-out process by clicking on the Gears icon, selecting Preferences, then sign out).
4. Reboot your system (possibly not needed, but better to be sure).
5. Open the CC Desktop app and sign in again.
6. Now you should have Lightroom showing as available to install....click on the Install button and it will download and install.
7. Enjoy.
 

niceguyhomer

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2015
Messages
11
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
That's pretty much what I did Jim, the version I have on my machine now was downloaded from the desktop app.
 

Jeff.b

Active Member
Joined
Apr 3, 2010
Messages
176
Location
UK Midlands
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Strange problem. I can work on an imported image without problems but when I take it into PS or OnOne (edit a copy with LR adjustments), then bring it back into LR, every adjustment I then make causes a 'blink' (image closes then reopens), after 5 - 10 seconds. I still have LR5 and this does not happen there.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
That's pretty much what I did Jim, the version I have on my machine now was downloaded from the desktop app.
So just to confirm, the only warning message about a trial expiry date concerns LR mobile, is that right?

If you do Help>System Info you should have the Lightroom version of CC2015, and the next line down should be License: Creative Cloud. Yes?

And on the Preferences>Lightroom mobile tab, what does the Status line say?

Do you intend to use LR mobile? If you open the Activity Centre (click on the Identity Plate), what's the status of the first entry "Sync with LR Mobile"?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Strange problem. I can work on an imported image without problems but when I take it into PS or OnOne (edit a copy with LR adjustments), then bring it back into LR, every adjustment I then make causes a 'blink' (image closes then reopens), after 5 - 10 seconds. I still have LR5 and this does not happen there.
Do you have the GPU feature enabled (Preferences>Performance Tab)? If yes, uncheck it then try again. Does it still happen.

There are few minor GPU glitches, this might be another.
 

shkin

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Hi All!

I was looking forward to seeing performance improvements, instead LR CC takes about 5 times longer to generate smart previews than LR 5, so 500 photos import takes almost 1 hour instead of 10 minutes. And since LR 5 does not and will not support Olympus E-M5 Mark II I’m stuck with two options: either use LR 5 and spend time spoofing EXIF data to make it look like the photos came from old E-M5 or use LR CC and spend much longer time on smart previews generation. Is there a reason for such a huge speed loss? Anything I can do about it?
Thanks,
Peter
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Hi, welcome to the forum.

I have a feeling some changes were made in respect of the Smart Preview generation, basically reducing the amount od CPU usage (in LR5 there were concerns that too much CPU utilisation was going into the Smart Previews build, which had a knock-on impact to other areas). But 5 times longer seems wrong, I'm certainly not seeing anything like that.

One thought: have you got the face recognition option enabled? Catalog Settings>Metadata Tab>Automatically detect faces in all photos. If you have, then all new imports are indexed in parallel with the Smart Previews creation, which will likely slow the SPs down somewhat. If you do have it enabled, you could either try an import with it disabled, or don't build the SPs until after the import has finished.

I've just built SPs for 100 raw files, took about 2 minutes on my old Win7 desktop.

BTW, there's a third option if you wanted to stay with LR5....use the latest free DNG converter to process your E-M5 II's files, then you can import the DNGs into LR5. But I'd try to fix the issue with LR6 first.
 

shkin

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2015
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Thank you, Jim,

I'm pretty sure face recognition is off, but I'll double check. My computer is not super fast primarily because the previews are not on SSD, but still 5 times speed decrease is quite odd.

Changing EXIF is much faster than converting to DNG and I'm almost positive that LR treats E-M5 and E-M5II files the same. I'm going to try import files from a different camera though just to test things out.

Best,
Peter
 

GeraldH

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
16
Is there a cooling off period with LR6 Standalone? I wanted a standalone product as with LR5.7, I want my money back.....seriously! Please advise.
 

Modesto Vega

Active Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
326
Location
Redhill, United Kingdom
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Is there a cooling off period with LR6 Standalone? I wanted a standalone product as with LR5.7, I want my money back.....seriously! Please advise.
Just to clarify, your 5.7 license should still work and you should be able to install it. In fact, if you are running on OSX it might be still there.

There might be a cooling off period but that will change country to country.

Additionally, you might want to consider holding to your Lr 6 license and wait for Lr 6.1 or 6.2. After reading the forum today, it cannot be too far away.
 

GeraldH

New Member
Joined
Apr 19, 2015
Messages
16
Just to clarify, your 5.7 license should still work and you should be able to install it. In fact, if you are running on OSX it might be still there.

There might be a cooling off period but that will change country to country.

Additionally, you might want to consider holding to your Lr 6 license and wait for Lr 6.1 or 6.2. After reading the forum today, it cannot be too far away.
My 5.7 does still work just fine. There will not be any dot updates for standalone users, I've already been told that.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
My 5.7 does still work just fine. There will not be any dot updates for standalone users, I've already been told that.
Whoever told you that was wrong. There will be dot releases to incorporate bug fixes, new camera support, new lens support.
 

Modesto Vega

Active Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
326
Location
Redhill, United Kingdom
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
My 5.7 does still work just fine. There will not be any dot updates for standalone users, I've already been told that.
Who told you that? Considering how busy this forum is Adobe will be shooting on their foot if they don't do a dot release soon. I just cannot keep up and wonder if the usual top contributors have had any sleep.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Normally there's a 30-day return policy. I've not heard any different, though it's not something I've investigated. Really, Adobe customer support should be your call on that one.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,476
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Considering how busy this forum is Adobe will be shooting on their foot if they don't do a dot release soon. I just cannot keep up and wonder if the usual top contributors have had any sleep.
The forum's no busier than I expected it to be, considering there was no public beta (and the first day debacle with both CC and LR6 installation issues certainly hasn't helped). Part of the challenge with new releases is to work out whether the issues being raised are simple lack of familiarity, or are there some genuine bugs. It'll calm down eventually, we're already seeing a switch from the installation issues to usability questions, which will be more fun than typing the same response over and over as we had to do on Tuesday evening/Wednesday!
 
Top