• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Lightroom 6 Address Lookup

daNWJ2

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Hello,

Does anybody know how the "Address Lookup" feature is supposed to work? I've paused and un-paused the feature and as far as I can tell, it does not do anything.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
It's the new term for "Reverse Geo-encoding". Check your catalog settings>Metadata tab and you'll see a couple of check boxes that explain it. If you have it enabled and an image has GPS co-ordinates, then Lightroom will attempt to locate the address and populate the Location fields in the Metadata panel. So if you import a bunch of images with GPS co-ordinates, and that setting is enabled, you should see a progress bar in the Address Lookup section of the Activity Centre.
 

daNWJ2

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I have photos with GPS coordinates and both Address Lookup checkboxes are selected in the Catalog Settings. Does this only work when importing new photos?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Are you sure the lookup hasn't already been done back in LR5 when you imported the images? Check the metadata panel for one of the images, make sure Exif & IPTC is the Metadata Set being shown, look in the Location boxes in the IPTC section.
 

daNWJ2

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Are you sure the lookup hasn't already been done back in LR5 when you imported the images? Check the metadata panel for one of the images, make sure Exif & IPTC is the Metadata Set being shown, look in the Location boxes in the IPTC section.

I have GPS coordinates and the sublocation, city, etc stuff was filled in automatically in LR 5. I got the impression that "address lookup" was a "new" feature. What exactly is it supposed to be doing differently I guess is the confusion.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
It's not doing anything differently, but it only works when it's got new images with GPS data to work on. It's not a "new feature", it's just one of the things that have been included in the new Activity Centre. The only really new feature in there is the face recognition indexing.
 

daNWJ2

New Member
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
It's not doing anything differently, but it only works when it's got new images with GPS data to work on. It's not a "new feature", it's just one of the things that have been included in the new Activity Centre. The only really new feature in there is the face recognition indexing.

Oh...I guess its placement right above the face detection is what confused me into it being a new feature. Thanks for the heads up.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,367
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Oh...I guess its placement right above the face detection is what confused me into it being a new feature. Thanks for the heads up.
Address Lookup and Face Detection are also checkboxes on the Metadata tab in Catalog preferences.
 

mantra

Active Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
It's the new term for "Reverse Geo-encoding". Check your catalog settings>Metadata tab and you'll see a couple of check boxes that explain it. If you have it enabled and an image has GPS co-ordinates, then Lightroom will attempt to locate the address and populate the Location fields in the Metadata panel. So if you import a bunch of images with GPS co-ordinates, and that setting is enabled, you should see a progress bar in the Address Lookup section of the Activity Centre.

Hi Jim
may i ask you a question ?
does it work with selected photos ?
or does search for all my photos with gps data

thanks
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
It only works automatically on new imports, and only then if they have GPS data stored in the metadata.

It can also be used selectively on already-imported images if you use the Map module to apply the GPS data to them, when you do that and Reverse Geo-encoding is enabled it will do the address lookup to try to populate the location metadata fields.
 

mantra

Active Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
It only works automatically on new imports, and only then if they have GPS data stored in the metadata.

It can also be used selectively on already-imported images if you use the Map module to apply the GPS data to them, when you do that and Reverse Geo-encoding is enabled it will do the address lookup to try to populate the location metadata fields.
Jim
may i ask this question ?
let's say i have 100 photos with gps
but i want to "Reverse Geo-encoding" or "Address Lookup" only 10 photos of them
can i do it?
how can i do it?
thanks Jim
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,296
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I don't think you can. I think I was wrong when I said that it only works automatically on new imports, as it seems that it will work on ANY photo in the library that has GPS co-ordinates and no location data.

So as soon as you enable Address Lookup, I think it will search for images with GPS data and attempt to populate the location data fields. I can't think of a way to do what you want....I can erase the data temporarily, but the suggestions will still come back eventually. You could of course leave the "suggestions" un-confirmed for the 90, and uncheck the second option in the Catalog Settings>Address Lookup section>Export address suggestions etc., but they'd still be visible in the catalog.
 

mantra

Active Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
441
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I don't think you can. I think I was wrong when I said that it only works automatically on new imports, as it seems that it will work on ANY photo in the library that has GPS co-ordinates and no location data.
Hi Jim
did you check on lightroom v4 and v5 ?
thanks Jim
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2019
Messages
1
My LR 6.14 perpetual has been forever looking up over 14,070 locations. The number never changes. The check mark is set "on" in the "Look up city, state and country of GPS coordinates....." I used to have LR 5. I suspect that there really are 14,070 GPS coordinates that do not have locations (can easily just look for an iPhone camera and scan through a few). I have never seen any messages about suggesting locations for new or for old photos. There are some photos with greyed-out locations: city, state, etc., so I understand that it shows that "some" of the photos were using Address Lookup feature. But there are some with good GPS coordinates that have no location data (empty) yet an addon I have to lookup single photos on external maps works (and the GPS coordinates are good). So - what is going on with my LR6 please - and how can i coax LR to continue to fill in the missing locations when the GPS is there? Thanks for any help!
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
454
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Locations are retrieved from Google Maps. Some years ago, Google changed the licensing to access GM, but since at that time LR 6 was already no longer supported, no change was made in it by Adobe and LR6 became unable to access GM. Hence no location retrieved.
 
Top