• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • 18 October 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a new AI-based Masking tools and a new Content-Aware Remove Healing tool, as well as smaller features, new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Lightroom 2 fails to load

Status
Not open for further replies.

kbartist

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2022
Messages
4
Lightroom Version
Lightroom 2
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.14 Mojave
Lightroom 2 fails to load
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,955
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hi kbartist, welcome to the forum!

Lightroom 2 was released in 2008, so I'm not overly surprised when you're using it with an operating system from 2018. A lot has changed in that time.

That said, was it working for you previously on this device? And I guess I should also ask, was this the "original" Lightroom 2, or the more recent cloud-based version?
 

kbartist

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2022
Messages
4
Hi kbartist, welcome to the forum!

Lightroom 2 was released in 2008, so I'm not overly surprised when you're using it with an operating system from 2018. A lot has changed in that time.

That said, was it working for you previously on this device? And I guess I should also ask, was this the "original" Lightroom 2, or the more recent cloud-based version?
Thank you for answering, Vistoria. I didn't give you enough information but I bet you can help me, I've struggled with this for years. I'm currently using Lightrooom Classic. My problem is that when the original Lr2 was replaced with Lr6 and newer, all my photos became unavailable. Am I correct to assume that I would still have to have Lr2 installed in order to open them? There were thousands of photos lost. Many were on a previous computer, but when I migrated everything to this one, shouldn't they have come too? But I can't open them when I find one.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,955
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
No don’t worry, even the current Lightroom Classic 11.5 can open catalogs back to the original 1.0 so no need to try to run LR2. Which version are you using now? Classic started at 7.0, but a lot of people call the legacy 1.0-6.14 Classic, which just adds to the confusion.

Migration between computers is a whole different issue. If you transferred the original images or if you have backups, it’s fixable. Some people think that old images are “in” Lightroom, and that’s where we run into issues.
 

kbartist

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2022
Messages
4
No don’t worry, even the current Lightroom Classic 11.5 can open catalogs back to the original 1.0 so no need to try to run LR2. Which version are you using now? Classic started at 7.0, but a lot of people call the legacy 1.0-6.14 Classic, which just adds to the confusion.

Migration between computers is a whole different issue. If you transferred the original images or if you have backups, it’s fixable. Some people think that old images are “in” Lightroom, and that’s where we run into issues.
11.5 release of LrC That's good news. I guess the problem then is that I can't identify the old stuff. When I installed the newer versions I always lost catalogs of photos, they would not appear in the new Lightroom. Guess I need to know where they are.
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
2,674
Location
Puget Sound
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Ken, I have Victoria Bampton working with me. Thanks!
Unless Victoria has been working with you via Private Message, you can expect to have any of the moderators, administrators or gurus to help out and answer questions. As we are all volunteers, we try to work as a team to make sure folks get their questions answered. If you ever get an answer that you have questions about or feel is contradictory to what you were previously advised, it is fine to post and ask for clarification.

--Ken
 
Joined
Dec 7, 2007
Messages
2,674
Location
Puget Sound
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
11.5 release of LrC That's good news. I guess the problem then is that I can't identify the old stuff. When I installed the newer versions I always lost catalogs of photos, they would not appear in the new Lightroom. Guess I need to know where they are.
Newer versions of LR Classic (and legacy versions as well) will always create a new copy when they are asked to open a catalog from an older version so that original catalog is never modified. I would suggest that you may want to search your computer for all of the catalogs and backups that you have.

Also note that if you have different versions of LR installed on your machine that if you open a catalog, it will open the version of LR that it was created in. So, if you have LR6.x and want to keep using it, I would suggest finding all of the catalogs that you have, open them from within LR6.x and when it creates a copy for LR6.x, give it a name that indicates that it is an LR6 catalog. Once you have done this successfully, you can take all of the old catalogs and store them and just work off of the newly created copies in LR6. If you decide to upgrade to LR Classic (the subscription model), you can do exactly the same but use this version instead of LR6.x.

Hope this helps,

--Ken
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top