• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Lens Correction Setup Option ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Does anyone know what the 'Setup' option is for in the lens correction panel ? The Manual doesn't mention it at all.
 

b_gossweiler

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,207
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Nik,

This is a quote of a post from Eric Chan:

Lens "Setup" menu explanation:

  • [li]Auto means that you ask CR to find a lens profile automatically for your image, and sets the Correction Amount sliders to 1''. If Auto can’t find a profile for your image, then it sets the profile to “None” (and shows a small warning icon and message explaining this).[/li]

  • [li]Default is the same thing, but you can customize it (i.e., custom default for your camera + lens combination).[/li]

  • [li]Custom is just that: custom. If you manually change a profile or one of the Amount sliders, you’re doing a custom adjustment, so Setup gets set to Custom.[/li]
Regarding lens vs camera+lens combinations. Generally, Adobe only supplies 1 profile per lens. Differences between cameras (e.g., crop factors) are automatically taken into account when applying the profile.

General usage model: Check the "Enable Lens Profile Corrections" box to apply lens corrections. In many cases, that's all you need to do. If needed, use one of the popups to select/change the profile. If needed, adjust the "Correction Amount" sliders to modify the correction.

Beat
 

wblink

Active Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
429
Location
Gendt, Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Doesn't PTLens do a better job untill there are LOTS of Camera/Lenses profiles available? And then: I trust PTLens. Adobe collects from all. Brrr..
 
Joined
May 27, 2009
Messages
1,909
Location
Twin Cities, MN
Lightroom Experience
Power User
For me, PT Lens only had about half of my lenses. LR had a few more. What wasn't there I have created for myself using the profiling tool. Now, I have them all. And I don't have to round-trip out to another program.

The argument that PT Lens does a better job until... ignores that anyone can create (and share) profiles that they need-at will. For my part, I won't be leaving PT Lens on the drive much longer.
 

b_gossweiler

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,207
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
[quote author=RikkFlohr link=topic=9984.msg67674#msg67674 date=1276'225'']
... For my part, I won't be leaving PT Lens on the drive much longer.
[/quote]

For my part either, one less roundtrip thru TIFF :)

Beat
 

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
PTlens = more $$$, more Disk Space = Destructive Edit requires huge TIFFs.

I won't be using lens correction on every shot, this would take away that special look you get from some lenses.
 

wblink

Active Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2008
Messages
429
Location
Gendt, Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Again,
If I use my 8''/5.6 for generating a correction profile and sent it to Adobe, will Adobe take it and put it in LR? What if I make a big mistake, alter the exif or whatever.
 

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Adobe are not putting the correction profiles in Lightroom. They are providing a website area to share them. People can download the profiles and rate them. Those that suck or have mistakes will get low marks.
 

mikey2000

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2010
Messages
8
Location
UK
Sizzlingbadger, I must be a bit dopey today but I followed your link and cannot see any mention of a profile database, just details about the lens profile creator utility. Have I missed something herr? As a Sony shooter I'm quite keen to get hold of a few Sony related profiles....

Cheers
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
23,249
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
No, you're not missing anything. There isn't a web interface for the hosted community profiles. They're accessible via the CS5 lens corrections dialog, and hopefully will be accessible via LR or a plug-in before too long.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top