Lens correction in develop module

Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#1
Is there a way to set up LR so that remove chromatic aberration and enable profile corrections are always on? I'm finding that I always check these and its a pain to scroll down for every photo. Thanks
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,254
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#2
You can update the defaults for the camera Mike. Reset a photo, then check those boxes, then go to Develop menu > Set Default Settings. It’ll only apply to new imports or any photos you press Reset on.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

Zenon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
498
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
I use the Set Default Settings for that and more things I want to auto apply at import. I actually set up a master set of files for each camera and make any changes to those files before updating the Default Settings.

If set up Default Setting then next time when you use a diffiencet lens it may not show up. In this case do this once to one file and the rest will show up.

1. Click on Setup - Reset Lens Profile Defaults. Make sure it does this. Double check it.

2. In the Lens Correction palette find the lens in Make and then Model.

3. Setup automatically changes to Custom.

4. Click on Setup and then on Save New Lens Profile Defaults.

5. Setup switches back to Default and new lens has been added. Now it will find it no matter which camera you are using.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#4
You can update the defaults for the camera Mike. Reset a photo, then check those boxes, then go to Develop menu > Set Default Settings. It’ll only apply to new imports or any photos you press Reset on.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I'm really confused. Lens corrections is only accessible when in Develop. When I click on the chromatic aberration and enable profile boxes it gives three options default, auto and custom. I have it set to default but then when I go to the next file I've got to repeat the process. What I want to do is keep the two boxes - aberration and enable - always on.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#5
I use the Set Default Settings for that and more things I want to auto apply at import. I actually set up a master set of files for each camera and make any changes to those files before updating the Default Settings.

If set up Default Setting then next time when you use a diffiencet lens it may not show up. In this case do this once to one file and the rest will show up.

1. Click on Setup - Reset Lens Profile Defaults. Make sure it does this. Double check it.

2. In the Lens Correction palette find the lens in Make and then Model.

3. Setup automatically changes to Custom.

4. Click on Setup and then on Save New Lens Profile Defaults.

5. Setup switches back to Default and new lens has been added. Now it will find it no matter which camera you are using.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
16
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#6
I don't see anything that says setup reset lens profile defaults. I'm on 6.14 and in the menu bar settings tab it only gives me an option to reset all settings. My lens correction panel is always grayed out until I click either or both of the chromatic aberration and enable profile correction boxes. Only then does it allow me to choose default, auto or custom. Then when I go to the next photo it is grayed out again. Frustrating.
 

Zenon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
498
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#7
The only way to do this with current files is to apply your settings, select all the files and then sync them. You should make sure you are syncing the same body and lens combos. You can also set up a preset to do this and sync.

For a permanent solution that auto applies lens corrections at import first go presets in preferences. Decide if you want them to apply specific to your camera, by ISO or both. See attachment. You have to do this for each camera. Next check both boxes in the lens correction window. Make sure you have the correct lens selected and it is on Default.

When done make sure your are in the Develop Module the select Develop (at the top of the page) - Set Default Settings and then Update to Current Settings.
 

Attachments

Zenon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
498
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#9
For existing files you could also set up a preset with your lens corrections. The go to the Library panel and select all images or only the ones you want. In Saved Preset (under Quick Develop) apply your preset.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,254
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#10
I'm really confused. [...] What I want to do is keep the two boxes - aberration and enable - always on.
Ok, let me pad my previous instructions.

Reset a photo - press the Reset button bottom right in Develop.
then check those boxes, - check the Remove Chromatic Aberration checkbox and the Enable Lens Profiles checkbox
then go to Develop menu > Set Default Settings. - Go up to the top of the screen where it says Develop, click on it, then click on Set Default Settings in that menu. In the dialog that comes up, press the Set Default Settings button.
It’ll only apply to new imports or any photos you press Reset on. - This will automatically check those checkboxes for any new photos you import, and for any photos that you press the Reset button on.

You might want to reset any photos you haven't edited yet, so they're automatically checked. As Zenon suggested, sync would work. Or if you haven't edited them yet, select all of the photos in Grid view and press the Reset button in the Quick Develop panel on the right in Library menu.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,254
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#11
4. Click on Setup and then on Save New Lens Profile Defaults.
5. Setup switches back to Default and new lens has been added. Now it will find it no matter which camera you are using.
Just to clarify, the Save New Lens Profile Defaults saves a custom lens profile for the selected lens. This is only needed if you have to manually select a specific profile from the pop-ups. If just checking the checkbox picks the right one, you don't need to mess with that pop-up.
 

Zenon

Active Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
498
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#12
Thanks Victoria.

Just so you know Mike not only are my lens corrections auto applied at import. So is profile, sharpening and NR. I set up this up by camera serial number and ISO in the preferences. Clarity as well and the Auto setting in the Basic window does not effect it.

I always shot with ISO at 100, 200, 400, 800 and so on so it made it easy for me. Trying to do this with the in between ISO settings would make too many scenarios to manage. With the way I'm set up there are only about 10 files needed for each camera. Each ISO level for each camera has specific settings in the Detail Tab.

As I said earlier I have a master set of files for each camera and ISO. I make any changes to these files only and update them using the Default Develop Settings.

In your case you can set it up using the camera serial number only and next time you import the lens corrections will auto apply. If you only use this then you don't even need a master file/s as it will be pretty easy to manage. Just update any file using Develop Default Settings.
 
Top