• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

Large External HDD -- What are You Using?

Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
I'd appreciate hearing what any Mac users are using for their larger external disk storage needs -- specifically the make/model, as well as "If you had to replace the setup you have today, would you replace it with something similar?"

Background: As a non-photography professional, I have ~16TB of Lightroom library & catalog backups (catalog on primary SSD), multimedia and other files on external storage. I'm presently enjoying single-disk redundancy with my Drobo DAS at Thunderbolt 3 speeds, which makes life super-simple when HDD fail to swap in a replacement, and it looks to macOS like one big drive to simplify everything I do and the apps I use. I have a second Drobo that is kept off most of the time, to create additional sets of 3.5" HDD for backups -- one copy on-site in a fireproof box and to "take-with-me in an emergency", and another set I rotate in/out of my offsite bank safe deposit box. Time Machine handles near real-time incremental backups of my SSD to a small USB HDD, and as a last resort I have Backblaze maintaining a copy of my SSD data (including Lightroom Catalog) as well as my actual Lightroom media library into the cloud. Use of cloud storage as a primary and active data store is not an option for me, given my limited internet speed and monthly data limits where I liv