• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Keywords with commas chaos

Tomas Griger

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I've found lots of duplicated keywords in my photos recently. I figured out the problem is that somehow, keywords appeared in my catalog that actually contain several keywords separated by commas. I don't know how they appeared, it could be via import from external file. This is causing a real mess in my keywords. Any idea how to separate them out to individual keywords?

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 10.42.00.png
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,085
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
That's a strange one. Keywords are by default separated by commas, although you can also separate them by spaces. That is an option in the Lightroom Preferences, under 'Interface'. You seem to have keywords with spaces in them ('Aegean Sea', DR Congo), but also with commas. That should not be possible. It looks like Lightroom is making a mess from a hierarchy. Try resetting your preferences first.
 

rob211

Senior Member
Joined
Mar 17, 2014
Messages
1,101
Location
Walnut Creek, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Bizarre. If one tries to enter a comma while keywording in Lr it gets rejected with a stern warning. I suspect these somehow got imported.

Can you use exiftool or something similar to see what's actually in one of the offending images?

And what do you get if you export keywords into a text file?

Also, if you export some of those images as a new catalog, does the problem persist?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,093
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Maybe say more about "import from external file". What does that mean? And what language are you working in? In Lr's Preferences, what is the setting for Interface > Keyword Entry ? Is it not commas?
 

Ian.B

Active Member
Joined
Sep 2, 2014
Messages
982
Location
Mildura, NW Victoria, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
No idea; however you seem to have a lot keywords for one or two images. I would be thinking you might be taking keywording are bit too far thus opening it up to mistakes . Most of my keywords are signal words however you and I have different uses for our keyworks

Just an observation. Others might like to comment on this also
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,085
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
I believe it's time to wait for the OP to answer some questions, like what happens if he resets the preferences. All we can do is speculate if he does not respond. Keywords are not only for you to find your photos, they can also be meant for stock photos. In that case it is not uncommon to have dozens of keywords assigned to one image.
 

Tomas Griger

New Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2016
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thank you all for your help, I tried all you recommended, but nothing worked. I had to manually delete the keywords and re-do the keywording of the images.

However, I figured out how the keywords managed to get into my library. It was via import from .csv file using plug-in "LR/Transporter". There is a warning down at the bottom during importing this way that *Keywords should be semicolon separated. I had my keywords comma separated, which most likely caused the problem. Still very interesting to see that it is actually possible to import keywords with commas into Lightroom this way. Maybe it'll be useful to someone ;)

Screen Shot 2016-06-21 at 14.26.12.png
 

gpsmikey

Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2013
Messages
62
Location
Kirkland, WA, Earth
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Thanks for posting what you found. As you say, hopefully it will help someone else avoid dropping through that trap door (or at least let them find what the answer is when they search). Nothing worse than searching with Google etc., finding lots of posts about the same problem but nobody bothers to post the answer when they find it.
 
Top