Not open for further replies.

Bikerbob

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
5.x
Operating System: Windows 10
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info):Lightroom 5

I am a complete newbie to LR. I have created a hierarchal keyword structure and have applied it to a number of photos. I now wish to move LR; my photos and the keyword structure to a second computer.
Will I have to redo the keyword structure or is there a way to copy all of this intate?

Thank you in advance

Everything you've done, including all the keywords, is in the Lightroom catalog. So the only thing that is needed is that you copy the catalog folder and the original images to the new computer. I believe Victoria has written an instruction for how to do that but I don't have a link right now.

Welcome to Lightroom Forums!

Lets start with some big picture insights.
It is very helpful to view the Lightroom ecosystem as several parts:

* Lightroom is an application (a computer program).

* Behind the application is a database (in Lightroom vernacular this is called a catalog). Everything the application does results in changes to the database (there are exceptions - but this is a helpful initial generalisation).

* Lightroom also generates a previews folder. The previews folder actually contain all the previews of every image imported into Lightroom. Whenever one views an image within Lightroom whether it be a thumbnail or a fullscreen version this is a preview. One never directly views the original image in Lightroom. (There is also such a thing as smart previews, but for now I will ignore them.) By default all presets are stored separately from this folder but this can be changed via preferences. The keyword list, however, is a direct construct of the database.