Keyword updating question.

Malcolm_fl

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
9
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi All,
Can anyone tell me if changing/updating keywords in Lightroom Library mode, should Lightroom automatically update any previously exported images too?
The photographs are not in any collections.
Mine doesn't appear to do so.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,332
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Previously exported images? No, of course not.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,332
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
No, you'd have to export the images again. If you have this problem more often, you could consider a publishing service to your had disk rather than exporting. A publishing service is like an export, where Lightroom does keep track of the exported result. If something was changed, Lightroom will tell you the image needs to be published again.
 

Malcolm_fl

New Member
Joined
Jan 3, 2017
Messages
9
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
No, you'd have to export the images again. If you have this problem more often, you could consider a publishing service to your had disk rather than exporting. A publishing service is like an export, where Lightroom does keep track of the exported result. If something was changed, Lightroom will tell you the image needs to be published again.
Ah, Now that is an interesting idea, many thanks, I will look into that.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,243
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Hi All,
Can anyone tell me if changing/updating keywords in Lightroom Library mode, should Lightroom automatically update any previously exported images too?
The photographs are not in any collections.
Mine doesn't appear to do so.
If you included the export file in the catalog (i.e. imported or added to the catalog on export) then the metadata in the catalog file will be updated. However the metadata in the file will not be updated unless you sync the catalog metadata back to to the file on the disk.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
1,371
Location
Dublin, Ireland.
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
However the metadata in the file will not be updated unless you sync the catalog metadata back to to the file on the disk.

This is very true. What is worse ...... as time goes by ...... you do not remember which is the version you want to keep. ie. Do you synch from catalog to image or from image to catalog.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,332
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
If you included the export file in the catalog (i.e. imported or added to the catalog on export) then the metadata in the catalog file will be updated. However the metadata in the file will not be updated unless you sync the catalog metadata back to to the file on the disk.

Yes, that is another way but it is less elegant IMHO. It means duplicate images in your catalog (original and exported version) and you cannot set 'Automatically write changes into XMP' for only those files. You either have to turn this on for all your files, or you have to remember to do it manually. A publishing service was designed to streamline this in a more elegant way.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,545
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
2,439
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Phil, if I understand your question then the answer is this:
Export using publish services.
If exportable metadata does change between the master image and any derivatives exported via publish services then publish services warns you of that fact.
There is nothing that Lightroom can do directly about the already published image but you can republish the same image with the updated metadata.

This was the solution which I was endorsing.
Let me know I have misconstrued your query.

Tony Jay
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,545
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Phil, if I understand your question then the answer is this:
Export using publish services.
If exportable metadata does change between the master image and any derivatives exported via publish services then publish services warns you of that fact.
There is nothing that Lightroom can do directly about the already published image but you can republish the same image with the updated metadata.

This was the solution which I was endorsing.
Let me know I have misconstrued your query.

Tony Jay
Tony,
Thank you. You did understand my question correctly.
 
Top