• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! As well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes, Lightroom Classic has a new local Hue tool, improved ISO-specific defaults, performance improvements and more. The Lightroom cloud ecosystem also gets local Hue, as well as Versions, Activity notifications, text watermarking and the ability to upload your own Discovery tutorials. Here are the full updates about Lightroom Classic and the Lightroom cloud ecosystem.

Keyboard Shortcuts

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,621
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
9
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
I'm aware of Victoria's blog about them. I'm trying to create one but I first need to disable one of the Apple shortcuts. Here is the list of Apple shortcuts. I'd like to disable Command X.

Mac keyboard shortcuts

I have been searching but I can't find the answer. It says to access keyboard shortcuts and uncheck the one/s you don't want. I went through them all but Command X is not there. I've done it before so it can be done. Just haven't been able to hit the correct link in my searches.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,621
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I did it for years using Jeffery Friedl's plugin-ins on two devices. CMD Z opened Personalized Auto Tone and CMD X opened Bulk Developer. I stopped using Personalized Auto Tone when in version 8 Adobe corrected the Sensei's messed up contrast settings. New iMac, new version of Bulk Developer and Catalina all in one week.

I think clean install of Catalina and on the new iMac is the cause. It is still working on my laptop which has been running Catalina for a few weeks. I got that to work when High Sierra was the OS. LR 9 is running on it as well.

I always write instructions/links down for this stuff. I was doing some cleaning for the new iMac and I may have erased it.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,621
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I figured it out. It kept gnawing at me and the that old coconut on my shoulders finally remembered. You leave 3 spaces in front of the menu title. It didn't work right away but I tried it a few times and restarted LR. Working now. I have a feeling Victoria may have suggested this in one of her blogs. I could be wrong bit I do know that this info is very hard find out there.
 

Attachments

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,621
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I just tried it on the MacBook Air. I typed in the menu title with the 3 spaces and the 3 dots at the end and it worked without restarting LR.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,621
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Yes I did a search and found that last night and I'm pretty sure I read it a few years ago. I didn't see a reference to the 3 spaces before the text to override Apple shortcuts. I don't know where I found that. I looked for weeks and couldn't find it. I had the same issue a few years ago.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,621
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I just got an email from Jeffrey Friedl for one of his blogs and read a few user posts. One had this link that mentions the 3 spaces. I'm pretty sure I didn't find out about this at this source. Virtually zero info on this out there.


Blog

 
Top