Keyboard shortcuts

MikeFromMesa

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
62
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I have started using LR again (using LR 6) after a hiatus when I was using CaptureOne. One of the things that C1 offers is the ability to define user keyboard shortcuts to menu commands and sub-commands and I was wondering if there was any way to do that in LR 6. The problem is that some of the functionality I use a great deal (like Plugin Extras) require that I stop the normal trackpad operations and go to the menus. The disconnect with what I was doing before in trying to remember where these items are gets to be annoying and it would be much easier to be able to call up the appropriate dialog box with a shortcut (which, I suppose, is why they exist at all).

I looked through the GUI menu items looking for a place to define customer shortcuts, but could not find one. I looked through the folder structure for a file where keyboard shortcuts might be defined, but did not find one. Is there any way to define keyboard shortcuts for LR 6?

Thank you.
 

MikeFromMesa

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
62
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I meant that I could not find any file where they were defined so I could add to the file or change the current values. Nor could I find any location on the UI that allowed me to do that.

I did not mean to imply that I could not find information on what they are now. Sorry for any confusion.
 

wirrah

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
58
Location
Maitland, NSW
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Mike,

You can change/add shortcuts in Yosemite via the keyboard system preferences. I've done this to change all my single character shortcuts to <cntrl> character. I got fed up with Lightroom processing caption/keyword etc... typing as shortcuts because it decided it wasn't ready to accept input into the fields.

cheers

Greg

PS Unfortunately it's not 100% full proof. Some shortcuts still react to the original definition for some reason.
 
Last edited:

MikeFromMesa

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
62
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Mike,

You can change/add shortcuts in Yosemite via the keyboard system preferences. I've done this to change all my single character shortcuts to <cntrl> character. I got fed up with Lightroom processing caption/keyword etc... typing as shortcuts because it decided it wasn't ready to accept input into the fields.
That is interesting, but how do you create an entry?

For example, one of the things I would like to do it give a shortcut to the DeHaze control which is located at File -> Plug-in Extras -> DeHaze Control. Every time I want to use it I have to stop processing, go to the File pulldown, scroll down to the DeHaze and select it. How do I enter that sequence (File -> Plugin Extras -> DeHaze Control) into the Keyboard preferences? I tried File Plug-in Extras DeHazeControl and that did not work. Can you use nested commands? Or am I missing something (like usual)?

Thank you.
 

wirrah

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
58
Location
Maitland, NSW
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Open the system preferences

Select "Keyboard" then "Shortcuts"

Select "App Shortcuts" on the left hand side

Add an application by clicking the "+" sign. Select the "All Applications" drop down and select Adobe Lightroom. If it doesn't appear scroll all the way down to "Other.." then browse for the Adobe Lightroom application.

Enter the menu title exactly how it appears Lightroom (in your example "DeHaze Control") then enter a shortcut key with modifier if required.

It's only the last level that gets entered.

I hope that makes sense but I can't offer any guarantees
 

wirrah

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
58
Location
Maitland, NSW
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Alas I can't seem to get it to work with plugin items...
 

MikeFromMesa

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
62
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Open the system preferences

Select "Keyboard" then "Shortcuts"

Select "App Shortcuts" on the left hand side

Add an application by clicking the "+" sign. Select the "All Applications" drop down and select Adobe Lightroom. If it doesn't appear scroll all the way down to "Other.." then browse for the Adobe Lightroom application.

Enter the menu title exactly how it appears Lightroom (in your example "DeHaze Control") then enter a shortcut key with modifier if required.

It's only the last level that gets entered.

I hope that makes sense but I can't offer any guarantees
I had gotten through all of the steps you specified in adding an entry, but the process had not worked. I had used the entire sequence File -> Plug-in Extras -> Dehaze Control and that did not work. I changed it to just Dehaze Control and that did not work. In fact I entered a shortcut for the File command (thinking it might open up the File dropdown) but that did not work either. I exited and restarted LR but that did not help. Nothing seemed to work.

I assume from all of this that there is no LR shortcut file that I can go to and edit. Does anyone have any other ideas?
 

wirrah

Member
Joined
Jun 17, 2015
Messages
58
Location
Maitland, NSW
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Hi Mike,

The menu items installed by plug-ins have three spaces in front of the actual text. You have to include those additional spaces when you define your new short cut.

-louie

That should solve Mike's issue and it works perfectly on my own plugins. Thanks!
 

MikeFromMesa

Member
Joined
Jul 27, 2015
Messages
62
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi Mike,

The menu items installed by plug-ins have three spaces in front of the actual text. You have to include those additional spaces when you define your new short cut.

-louie
That worked. Thank you for your help as it will be a great help to me.
 
Top