It appears that something has corrupted an NEF file...maybe LR5??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Roscoe17

Active Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
166
I don't know for show what damaged the file, but what I can say is that I just now noticed it as I upgrade my LR catalog in LR5.

Here is the picture I posted to Smugmug many years ago of the Eiffel tower
Paris_day_5_054-M.jpg

Here is what it looks like now in LR, CS6, and any viewer I use (clearly the file is corrupted)
Paris_day_5_054-M.jpg

Needless to say I'm not happy...odd part most programs don't actually touch the inside of a raw file except the preview, CNX2 being the notable exception. Note I think I processed these in 2005 with Raw Shooter Express long before LR or CNX existed, and long before I discovered PS.

Thoughts and/or ideas?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
19,011
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The file was likely corrupted by the file system writing to that drive or the drive media might be getting old and bad sectors are starting to develop. You will need to recover this file from your permanent back up if you have one. Since it is likely this drive is beginning to fail, there may be other files in this sector or other bad sectors.

it was not LR, PS, or CNX that caused the problem, but the file system that accesses the drive.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,664
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
In addition to what Cletus said, you ought to be thinking hard about replacing that hard drive. At a minimum, find a manufacturer-supplied diagnostic for the drive and run it.

Conceivably, the problem could be caused by bad RAM. Find a memory diagnostic that runs on Macs and run that, too. :)

Hal

p.s., I just noticed that you have a couple other current posts that are also talking about bad files. That makes hardware problems even more probable.
 
Last edited:

ukbrown

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
539
Location
UK
Lightroom Version
Forget about bad RAM, unless your OS is also crashing regularly
 

ukbrown

Active Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
539
Location
UK
Lightroom Version
Compare it to your backup copy ..................
 

Roscoe17

Active Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
166
Too old...that backup failed a long time ago.

I don't think I have a bad drive because it's a NAS with RAID and the device is reporting all drives as healthy
 

wianb

Active Member
Joined
Dec 6, 2010
Messages
101
Location
Salisbury, Wiltshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
5.x
Too old...that backup failed a long time ago.

Oops!!!! I learnt the lesson a long time ago ... Backup, Backup & Backup again!! Files corrupt & drives fail for no apparent reason. I have 4 'copies' of my photos, the 'working' files, 2 backups on separate internal drives and a backup on a removable drive that is kept in a friend's house.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top