• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Is Lr Catalog Backup necessary if .....

Dragon27

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2015
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 7.3 [ 1164630 ]
Operating System
macOS 10.13 High Sierra
Is a separate Lr Catalog backup necessary if I already backup the Catalog and the Photos using Time Machine on my iMac (which will also backup the backup) ?
 
Joined
Oct 28, 2013
Messages
795
Location
Cheshire, UK
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
The Lightroom backup also does some integrity checking and optimisation of your Catalogue, so yes it is worth doing - it's not just creating a copy.
In recent versions it also compresses it, which should be of some benefit.

Dave
 

Dan Marchant

Active Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2017
Messages
203
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
The main principle with backups is that you should have several of them all in different locations. Unfortunately the default location for the LR catalog is in a sub folder below your working catalog. So if that drive fails you lose your catalog and the backup.

The odds of your drive failing and there being a problem with Time Machine are slim but it can't hurt to have a second backup of your images and catalog.

You should also consider backing up your Presets if you have any number of user created presets. These are not part of the catalog and are not stored with it, so you should take steps to ensure they are included in your backup process.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,313
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
If the TM backup occurs while LR has the catalogue open, the backup may not be in a consistent state. It's better to back up through Lightroom and let TM back up the LR-created backup.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
2,325
Location
Fort Myers, FL
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Do both, do not depend on either alone. LR's does integrity checking; TM does a "raw" backup, in the sense it is not processed. LR's does a zip itself, and there are reports of it not always working correctly.

Do both, belt and suspenders. And still keep a hand nearby if your pants start falling. ;)
 

donoreo

Active Member
Joined
Mar 27, 2012
Messages
311
Location
Toronto
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Another recommendation for doing both. The backup also does an optimize on the catalogue.
 
Top