• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • You may have noticed this website was offline on Saturday 22nd September. Our web host suffered what is known as "a perfect storm". Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. As a result of restoring backups, we appear to have lost about 18 hours of posts, but hopefully nothing more. If your post seems to have been affected, please do repost, and we look forward to helping. If you have any questions, you're welcome to use the Contact Webmaster link on the page footer.
  • Lightroom Classic 7.5 and Lightroom CC 1.5 have just gone live, and there's some exciting mobile updates to follow. And the big news... my Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro book has just been released too!

Is it saved?

Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
33
Location
New York City
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#1
Lightroom Version
6.9
Operating System
macOS 10.13 High Sierra
An odd question for you I'm sure, but after editing a photo in LR 6.9, is the edit automatically saved as I go or if not, whats the procedure for saving the edited /adjusted photo?
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#2
An odd question for you I'm sure, but after editing a photo in LR 6.9, is the edit automatically saved as I go or if not, whats the procedure for saving the edited /adjusted photo?
Yep, it's saved as you go. It writes writes all your edits as instructions into the catalog file (parametric/non-destructive editing), so make sure you often/always backup your catalog. If you want to view those edits outside of Lightroom, like for sending them to someone else, you need to specifically "Export" them, in your choice of Jpeg/tiff/DNG. .... Note also, that you could accomplish that by using DNG with 'full-size previews' set in the preferences - and doing a 'save metadata to file'. That inserts a full-size jpeg with the current edits (at the time you did 'save metadata to file') into the DNG - so the single DNG file contains both the original data and the jpeg 'snapshot'. When double-click viewing the DNG outside of LR, the Jpeg preview with your edits would show by default.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
33
Location
New York City
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#3
Hoggy-Thank you. Is that accomplished automatically when choosing as DNG? or could I have missed a step somewhere. By full size, do you mean 1:1 ?
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
7,488
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#4
Lightroom is a parametric editor. That means that edits are not carried out directly on the image, but are stored in the catalog. What you see is a preview of how the edits look, not the edited original. So this has nothing to do with the file format, and whether or not you convert to DNG. It happens with every type of image file that Lightroom supports.

I don't work with DNG myself, but I believe that Hoggy was not entirely correct. 'Save Metadata to File' saves the edits to the metadata as well (it still saves them to the catalog too). If you use a proprietary raw file, then that will be saved as a separate xmp 'sidecar' file. If you use DNG, it will be stored inside the DNG metadata. AFAIK, this does not update the DNG preview however. Lightroom has a separate menu for that: 'Metadata - Update DNG Preview & Metadata'.
 

Hoggy

Never take life, or anything in it, too seriously.
Joined
Nov 20, 2012
Messages
527
Location
Wisconsin
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#5
AFAIK, this does not update the DNG preview however. Lightroom has a separate menu for that: 'Metadata - Update DNG Preview & Metadata'.
oops.. Yep, that is correct. Brain-fart-moment. :)
 
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Messages
33
Location
New York City
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
#6
I'll take from this that any changes are indeed saved, one way or another, as I go and theres no need to hit "return" or any other method other than moving on to the next photo or closing down LR. Thank you guys.
 
Top