Library module Intended strategy to use an external drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marsha

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Operating System: Windows 10 64 bit
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): 6 (perpetual licence)

I am very new to Lr having previously used Nikon Capture NX. I use an ageing Dell XPS with a small (256 Gb) ssd running Windows 10 64 bit; I prefer to spend my money on camera gear and my spare time with my family. Because of the small size of the drive, and to avoid foreseeable issues with fragmentation, I installed Lr on the ssd but wish to use an external harddrive (e.g. in a separate ssd connected via an inateck enclosure) for all other Lr files.

I am mainly a social photographer, however I do occassionally do photographs for friends events (e.g. weddings, birthday celebrations etc..) from which I might have 500 images to process. In a year I take photographs in around 5 sessions a week minimum; in a year I may only have several thousand (e.g. <8k images) to archive in Lr. I will say a little more about how I am thinking of working. I am thinking of having a master Lr catalogue and an archive of all necessary Lr files on the harddrive. For larger events like weddings I plan to create a separate catalogue and work from the laptop harddrive for speed, and then in some way add this work to the master archive on the external harddrive and then delete the files from the laptop. The problem is I dont know if this would work, or if it would work how to do it.