• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! Color Grading and improved zoom across the whole Lightroom family, plus graphical watermarks for the cloud-based Lightroom apps, as well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes. See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Importing referenced images (like Aperture)

helen9096

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
3
Lightroom Version
3.3 X64 (Jun 11 2020)
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
If this is already been covered elsewhere, please direct me! I'm trying to import some pics into Lightroom, and I'd like the files to stay where they are, whether that be in a folder on my laptop, or on my storage drive. How do I do that? I'm not really understanding the Lightroom lingo. Does 'in the specified location' mean 'where it is already' or 'the folder you've designated for all Lightroom imports'?
I haven't started the long-dreaded migration from Aperture yet, I'm just trying to get my head round Lightroom first. And also have a long backlog of images which need cataloguing and are currently not imported into Aperture OR Lightroom or anything else. I'm on a Mac but have never used iPhoto.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
10,322
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Lightroom 3.3 stores the images in the cloud. It needs to copy them to a temporary location before they are uploaded (otherwise adding images would be too slow). You cannot use an existing location and not copy the images.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,522
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
You're probably using the wrong Lightroom. 3.3 is a cloud-dependent simplified program which Adobe decided to name Lightroom.
The direct equivalent to Aperture was renamed and is now known as Lightroom Classic.
 

helen9096

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
3
Thanks all! I had no idea there were all these variants of Lightroom. Why didn't Adobe call the cloud-based one something else? Grr. OK, so it seems that Lightroom Classic is actually what I need... I'll go off and read up on that before I proceed any further.
 

helen9096

New Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2020
Messages
3
I'm now installing Lightroom Classic, which is available as part of my monthly package. Hadn't occurred to me it was the thing I needed - I've been trained to think of 'classic' as meaning 'old', given that I started my Mac life back in OS9 days... :D
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
16,616
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I'm now installing Lightroom Classic, which is available as part of my monthly package. Hadn't occurred to me it was the thing I needed - I've been trained to think of 'classic' as meaning 'old', given that I started my Mac life back in OS9 days... :D
Adobe would like you to think that Classic is older. And they succeeded with you. Actually it is “old” as in more mature. There is more functionality in Classic than in Lightroom.

Your original question was about importing by reference. Lightroom only imports by reference. On import you have three options: COPY (from an existing Location to a new location that will be referenced by Lightroom), MOVE (from an existing Location to a new location that will be referenced by Lightroom) and ADD (from an existing Location that will be referenced by Lightroom. Images stay where they are.)


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,522
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
And a tip based on Cletus's post - every time you import, take a second to review whether you have selected Copy or Move or Add.
 
Top