• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic is just bug fixes and new cameras in this release, but it fixes a whole load of macOS Catalina issues.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options and direct import on iOS and the ability to contribute photos to someone else's account from the desktop/mobile apps.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.

Importing photos from camera to Lightroom using a Macbook with OS El capitan

Tricia canoe

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
14
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Hi Everyone,

I have just updated my operating system on my MacBOOK pro to OS X El Capitan. However, there's a hitch.

Now when I download images from my camera to the macbook they don't automatically go into Lightroom. They go into PHOTOS (the ox x El Capitan thing). I don't know how to change this so they download to Lightroom instead.
Can anyone help?
Thanks
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,330
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
When the memory card is mounted, start Image Capture. Select the card in the left panel. In the lower left corner (you probably need to click on the arrow first) you can set which application will open if the card is detected.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
15,141
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
Welcome to the forum.
The default app is set to the new Photos app. You can change this with the Image Capture app which controls the default app.
Open the ImageCapture.app and insert your camera card so that it appears in the left panel as a "device". In the lower left corner of the Image Capture app, you can set the LR app as the one to open when a Camera or camera card is inserted. You will need to do this for each uniquely named volume or device.
 

Tricia canoe

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
14
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Importing images onto mac- can't get them to download to lr

Welcome to the forum.
The default app is set to the new Photos app. You can change this with the Image Capture app which controls the default app.
Open the ImageCapture.app and insert your camera card so that it appears in the left panel as a "device". In the lower left corner of the Image Capture app, you can set the LR app as the one to open when a Camera or camera card is inserted. You will need to do this for each uniquely named volume or device.


Thanks for this. Much appreciated. However, I go to the little box at the base on the left and Lightroom doesn't appear. Only other apps like iPhoto etc.
 

Tricia canoe

New Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
14
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
One last thing - do I have to launch Image capture each time? In the past they just download automatically to LR. I can't seem to do that without opening IC first?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,330
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
No, if you have set Lightroom as the application to open, then that is what should happen the next time that you insert the memory card: Lightroom should start up. In the Lightroom preferences you can set that the import dialog should automatically come up when a memory card is detected.
 
Top