1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation.
    If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above.

    You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Good news! We will NOT be closing the forum. Read all about it here.
    Dismiss Notice

Import issue Android tablet (Nexus 9)

Discussion in 'Lightroom CC for iOS, Android & Web (cloud-based)' started by Henk Geertsen, Feb 9, 2018.

  1. Henk Geertsen

    Henk Geertsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.x / CC 2015.x
    I'm having an issue with getting photos from my camera to my (android) tablet for use with LR CC (without having wifi at my disposal). Currently I'm using an OTG USB cable with a USB card reader and that kinda works.....

    LR CC itself doesn't want to see this card reader/USB source, however the file explorer I have on my tablet does see it, so I copy photos from my CF card to my tablet. So far I found out the photos need to be in the DCIM folder, otherwise LR doesn't pick them up.

    Now the biggest issue I see so far...
    The first time I do this (first batch of images) is going Ok. However, when I add more photos at a later stage (in the same way), LR refuses to see them in the (same) DCIM folder. With the file explorer app I can verify they are actually there, but LR refuses to see them when I want to import them. It only sees the files from the first import. I found out that I need to restart the tablet, and THEN LR sees the additional files and I can import them.

    I Would love to have a work around for that, because apart from that this workflow seems fine for me. I would like to use this workflow when shooting at indoor volleyball matches, where the teams usually like a couple of images right after the game for social media etcetera.


    Mobile Operating System: Android
    Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info): LR CC for Android app
     
  2. RikkFlohr

    RikkFlohr Senior Member Staff Member Moderator Lightroom Guru

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,828
    Location:
    Twin Cities, MN
    Lightroom Experience:
    Power User
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    Classic 7
    Henk, working from memory here, but I believe a CF card reader has to have power and that is why it is recommended to connect your camera to the OTG cable rather than just a card reader. The camera's battery supplies the needed power. Have you tried connecting to the camera directly?
     
  3. Henk Geertsen

    Henk Geertsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.x / CC 2015.x
    Hi Rikk,

    Thanks for your answer. The copying of images to tablet action itself is going fine. The files are on tablet without a doubt. I can easily check this with a file explorer app. I just need to reboot the tablet every time I add images to be able to see them in LR. Only LR doesn't seem to understand the files are added. All other apps see this right away. I don't feel there is anything wrong with the card reader part. The copy worked.
     
  4. Henk Geertsen

    Henk Geertsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.x / CC 2015.x
  5. Henk Geertsen

    Henk Geertsen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Lightroom Experience:
    Intermediate
    Primary OS:
    Windows 10
    Lightroom Version:
    6.x / CC 2015.x
    I have installed the update yesterday and tested it. I'm happy to say that they have solved my issue with the update.
     

Share This Page