I need help for major catalog transport

Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
59
Location
Hillsborough, NC
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#1
Lightroom Version
6.0 (1014445)
Operating System
Windows 10
I'll say up front that I'm a photo hoarder. But I'm trying to reform.

My current catalog has more than 42K photos. Using an app "Duplicate Photo Cleaner" I find that more than 10K are marked as duplicates. This is partially because I have been saving both JPG and NEF versions of the same pic, and partially because the app chooses very similar photos as duplicates based on EXIF data and some other algorithms. I suspect that I can trim my catalog by as much as 80% by eliminating duplicates and deleting non-duplicates that simply aren't worth saving.

I would like to preserve my bloated catalog until my project is complete in case I do something terrible and want to reverse part of what I change.

I have several large HDDs. The first thing that I want to see is the size needed if I want to mirror my existing catalog. How do you find that? I have Victoria's Lr6 book and still can't find how to determine the HDD size needed to mirror my existing catalog and associated files (pictures and metadata).

Once I select a HDD for the mirror I'll likely choose "Self-Contained Catalog" described on page 493 of the book.

Any advice or warnings is appreciated. I especially need to determine the size of my existing catalog package that I want to mirror.
 
Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
59
Location
Hillsborough, NC
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#2
How do I edit a post that is a couple of hours old? My Lr version actually is 6.10.1 build 1117303

I'm attaching a screenshot. Do I need to start the export with these settings before I can see the size? Are the correct options checked?
Thanks
2018-05-17 (6).png
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
59
Location
Hillsborough, NC
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#5
Thanks, Johan.

I have all my photos and Lr files transferred to a dedicated HDD now. Not surprisingly, all the photos were marked as missing. I remapped many and they all have the "metadata changed" message in the screenshot below. I don't know what "other application" is referred to. Should I choose to overwrite? What do I lose if anything if I do? Should I import my photos in a different way? As shown above I exported from Lr but they actually resided on a couple of drives. If needed I can copy the photos directly from their respective HDDs but I want to be sure that the metadata remain associated.

2018-05-18 (4).png
 
Joined
May 21, 2015
Messages
59
Location
Hillsborough, NC
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#6
For my detailed explanation:
A = desktop computer that has some photos
B = 2 TB USB drive that has most of my photo collection, lrcat file, and other stuff
C = Empty, reformatted HDD
N = new laptop computer
O = old laptop that I am retiring

My original Lr collection resides mostly with pictures on B . I have Lr6 program on A and O. I've been able to open Lr either A or O and and clicking on the lrcat file in B. I want to have Lr photo collection on a portable drive C.

To be more clear on how I attempt my new configuration, I:
  • Open Lr with all 42K photos (most on B) from my main desktop computer (A)
  • "export as catalog" all photos to C. See screenshot in my second post above.
  • Copy Lrcat, Lrdat, backup folders from the original location (B) to C
  • Attach C to new laptop computer (N).
  • Click on the lrcat file that now is on C
  • Lr opens on N and shows thumbnails of all my files, each with the ! showing that the photo is missing
  • I remap the ! file to the new location on C
  • Picture is found and the "metadata changed" message in the screenshot above appears.
Do I need a different procedure (e.g., start a new catalog on my laptop and import each folder anew)? All of the information is on HDD "C". I would like to keep the photos on C as a dedicated portable catalog.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
19,954
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#7
Post editing is limited to about 10 minutes, because spammers were coming back and adding spam links to old posts, but you can always just follow up with a new reply, as you did.

I would like to preserve my bloated catalog until my project is complete in case I do something terrible and want to reverse part of what I change.
Personally I'd mark the ones you're going to delete as rejects until you're happy you got the right ones, and then delete at the end.

I'll likely choose "Self-Contained Catalog" described on page 493 of the book.
So this is to use on multiple computers? Or is this mirror just a backup, essentially?

I remapped many and they all have the "metadata changed" message in the screenshot below.
If your catalog looks correct, you want Overwrite Settings (or Cancel!) Import Settings from Disk is only for when you've intentionally changed photos using other software such as Bridge.

To be more clear on how I attempt my new configuration
What were you trying to accomplish? You started off talking about removing duplicates, but it sounds like you're trying to move all the photos and catalog to a separate drive for multiple computer use now? Was there a particular reason you used Export as Catalog?
 
Top