• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

How do I rename a customised/created colour profile

Antonio Correia

Active Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
132
Location
Setubal - Portugal
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Lightroom Version
8.3.1
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
I have made a profile for a certain ambient light conditions with the Oly 5 II. The profile is saved under the Library folder but I want to rename it.
I will be using several profiles for other lighting conditions.
The system accepts the new name but LR doesn't even after having been re-started.
How to overcome this difficulty ? Thank you ! :)


 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,955
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
The name that Lightroom uses is an internal name, written inside the profile. Renaming the file on disk does not work. You should be able to rename it by right-clicking on it, but only in Camera Raw, not in Lightroom.
 

Antonio Correia

Active Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
132
Location
Setubal - Portugal
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The name that Lightroom uses is an internal name, written inside the profile. Renaming the file on disk does not work. You should be able to rename it by right-clicking on it, but only in Camera Raw, not in Lightroom.
Thank you Johan for the kind reply.
Doesn't make sense, does it ?
I have bought the white balance calibrator and now I must go to ACR if I want to use it !
If I want to use 3, 4, 5 profiles, I have to go around, waist time in opening the files in ACR to return to LR !
I may be wrong but I can't find the renamed profile in ACR ! And I can't rename it clicking on the right side.
Am I doing something wrong, am I missing something or is this a bug or whatever ?...
Do I have to import the profile ?
Cheers Johan ! Have a nice week end ! :)

 
Joined
Nov 30, 2012
Messages
296
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
The way I have done it, at least for profiles generated from LUTs (I hope this works with DCPs, haven't tried that) is:
  1. In Lightroom, right-click the profile in the Profile Browser, and choose Show in Finder so you can see the profile on the desktop.
  2. Open the profile in a text editor. The example below is in BBEdit.
  3. Find the filename in the text (you can see below it's under "crs:Name"), and edit it.
  4. Save the file.
  5. Restart Lightroom. The profile should now be listed the way you want it.
12775


By the way, it's a similar situation with ICC profiles, like if you want to change the name of a display or printer profile in menus inside an application. Applications do not display the filename; you have to change it inside the file using Apple ColorSync Utility. Paste the filename (without the extension) into the ASCII Name and Unicode Name fields.

12776
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,955
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Thank you Johan for the kind reply.
Doesn't make sense, does it ?
I have bought the white balance calibrator and now I must go to ACR if I want to use it !
If I want to use 3, 4, 5 profiles, I have to go around, waist time in opening the files in ACR to return to LR !
I may be wrong but I can't find the renamed profile in ACR ! And I can't rename it clicking on the right side.
Am I doing something wrong, am I missing something or is this a bug or whatever ?...
Do I have to import the profile ?
Cheers Johan ! Have a nice week end ! :)

Your screenshot shows Adobe Color as the profile that is selected. You can’t rename the default profiles, only your custom profiles.
 

Antonio Correia

Active Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
132
Location
Setubal - Portugal
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thank you Johan ! :)
Only now I was able to come here !
Excuse me.
Cheers ! :)
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,565
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
For ease of management of ICC profiles there is also ColorThink from Chromix.com. Not only does it have a rename function it also has tools for evaluating your profiles. The 3D comparison is much more accurate than is provided in ColorSync Utility. Again this is only for ICC profiles not the Adobe camera profiles.

-louie
 

Antonio Correia

Active Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2008
Messages
132
Location
Setubal - Portugal
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thank you Louie !
Very kind of you to give me that tip.
Indeed, I will have to spend more time on this subject...
Cheers ! :)
 
Top