• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

how can I save my work during the work?

sling

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
Lightroom Version
6.14
Operating System
Windows 10
Hi if I am working with lots of pPictures: How can I save my work without closing Lightroom? I want to be shure that my work is saved if anything happens to the Programm or to my computer. May be there is a seeting like autosave each 30minutes? Many thanks Stefan
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
175
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
There no "save" in Lightroom. It's not the way it works.
LR uses a database (called "Catalog"). Each time you make a modification (either in the metadata, the develop module or a virtual copy, etc) the modification is written in the database record immediatly. The database (catalog) is always up to date, hence no need for a "Save".
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,633
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
There no "save" in Lightroom. It's not the way it works.
LR uses a database (called "Catalog"). Each time you make a modification (either in the metadata, the develop module or a virtual copy, etc) the modification is written in the database record immediatly. The database (catalog) is always up to date, hence no need for a "Save".
However,

IF you want to do a catalog backup, you will need to quit Lightroom. If am doing an all-day session with Lightroom, then I quit every few hours precisely to get this backup.

Phil
 

sling

New Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2018
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
thanks for your fast answering. Once I have had an crash of LR and all my work was away. I was wondering because otherwise I made the experience as you said that LR save the catalog during the work without any users need to do. Thanks again, Stefan - Greetings from Germany
 

Ferguson

Linwood Ferguson
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,800
Location
Cape Coral, FL
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
thanks for your fast answering. Once I have had an crash of LR and all my work was away. I was wondering because otherwise I made the experience as you said that LR save the catalog during the work without any users need to do. Thanks again, Stefan - Greetings from Germany
There is a bit more to the "save" issue, in terms of how your computer is configured. LR commits changes to "disk" frequently, but whether your computer actually writes them immediately depends on how caching is set up in numerous places, from the volume in Windows (cached to main memory) to the actual cache on disk. Here are two check boxes that have some impact (they explain themselves):

Cache.jpg


Historically windows would take a safe option unless you change it, I do not know what the default is today. Also, vendors that put accelerators in (Intel is one) that use hierarchical storage (e.g. SSD + HDD, Optane, etc.) may not chose wisely (or more precisely may choose unwisely from a reliability standpoint to get faster performance). Finally if using external drives especially NAS you get whole separate caching rules.

So while LR may save its work continually, your computer may or may not. It pays to go through all such places and at least know what options you are using. The above is the most straightforward, drill down from drive properties to volumes, etc. NAS, etc. are much harder and device specific.
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
175
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
Good point, too often forgotten. The fact the data are written by an application doesn't necessarily means the data are physically written to disk, they can be be somewhere in a buffer.
That's exactly why one must always "eject" (via the OS command) an external storage (disk or usb key) before removing it. This command forces the OS to flush all the buffers used to write to the media, so all the data are physically written, avoiding risk of corruption.
 
Top