• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • 17 August 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a couple of minor improvements as well as new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Import Hide Drives in Source

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
2,758
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Lightroom Version
Classic 11.3.1
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
I have 10 different Windows drives at present, but all my photos to import are stored on E: Any way to hide all the other drive letters?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,236
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
No, but as you can select a recent source folder at the top of the panel, the number of drives is pretty irrelevant.
 

Gnits

Senior Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
1,570
Location
Dublin, Ireland.
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Can you create a standard import template which defaults to your preferred source drive. I am on an iphone now and cannot try that myself.

I mostly use Johans suggestion and select from the most recent entry on the list.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
12,236
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Can you create a standard import template which defaults to your preferred source drive. I am on an iphone now and cannot try that myself.

I mostly use Johans suggestion and select from the most recent entry on the list.
No. An import preset stores all settings in the right side panels, including the destination. It does not store the source.
 

Gnits

Senior Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
1,570
Location
Dublin, Ireland.
Lightroom Experience
Power User
No. An import preset stores all settings in the right side panels, including the destination. It does not store the source.
Agreed.... just tested that scenario before I saw your post. I was always curious if this would save a drive or folder.... especially when using devices like Gnarbox in the field... which are really external drives.... so useful, in such cases, to be able to default to a preferred drive and folder. Pity.
 
Top