• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • Just a quick head's up - we'll be moving to a new server on Wednesday 20th November around 2:30PM GMT. There should be very little downtime, but it may take your DNS servers up to 72 hours to update (although you can clear them manually).

HDR in LR 6.14?

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
Yes - but probably not true HDR, just some form of tone mapping.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,580
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
No there is not a HDR merge in this version of Lightroom. It came some time later with one of the updates to the 7 or 8. There is an option to send a selected set of images to Photoshop if you have that to do either an HDR or Panorama merge.

-louie
 

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
No there is not a HDR merge in this version of Lightroom. It came some time later with one of the updates to the 7 or 8. There is an option to send a selected set of images to Photoshop if you have that to do either an HDR or Panorama merge.

-louie
Yes, there is. I can't remember which point update of v6 HDR merge came with, but it's certainly there in v6.14.

Lightroom-1.jpg Lightroom-2.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,580
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Sorry you're correct I was looking in the "Edit In" menu and I completely missed seeing the "Photo Merge".

In any case it is a very powerful HDR merge and creates as I recall a 16 bit DNG that is easily edited with Lightroom. If you mean by "tone mapped only" that it doesn't produce the "HDR look" of many of the external HDR apps that is true. It has a very natural look.

Rikk Flohr has written up a very good overview for how to take the best advantage of Lightroom's HDR.

Lightroom 6/CC2015 – Photo Merge Tidbits (Part 1)


thanks,

-louie
 

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
Thank god it doesn't produce that 'HDR look', but that's not what I meant. I meant it doesn't produce 32 bit per channel Radiance RGBE or 42 bit per channel OpenEXR format true HDR images typically used in computer modelling.
 

Richard Behan

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
49
Location
Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Gentlemen, many many thanks. Yes, I see it there, the "Photo Merge" option. When I click on it, however, both "HDR" and "Panorama" are grayed out.
I can probably figure that out, but you've pointed the direction. Thanks again.
 

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
You need to have at least two images selected.
 

Richard Behan

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
49
Location
Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Thanks, Roy, you're a gem. I've made my first HDR images now--following your lead. Now I'm experimenting with the panorama feature. Am I correct you can stitch only two images together? I presumed you could use as many images for panoramas as you can in the HDR process, but that seems not to be the case. Yes?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,770
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Am I correct you can stitch only two images together?
No, you can stitch more than two images (I've done up to 19). But again, you have to select the complete set before initiating the Photo Merge....
 

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
Yes, like Jim said, you can certainly stitch more than two images. Lightroom is very good a fudging the joins on hand-held panoramas, but if you're shooting with a proper tripod pano-head then you'd be better off using something like PTGui.
 

Richard Behan

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
49
Location
Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Gentlemen, you are helping immensely, but I'm a very senior citizen and soft, apparently, in the head. I made a 3-image panorama successfully, but my 8-image attempt has failed several times. Two of the images merge, but that seems to be all. Hm.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,770
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
And did you confirm that you have sufficient overlap in those 8 images?

Also, when using LR 6.14 I'm pretty sure that all the images in the selection have to be shot using the same focal length (that restriction was removed in LR Classic), so check that as well.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,099
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
And did you confirm that you have sufficient overlap in those 8 images?

Also, when using LR 6.14 I'm pretty sure that all the images in the selection have to be shot using the same focal length (that restriction was removed in LR Classic), so check that as well.
And also the exact same dimensions in pixels. That is no problem when you shoot in raw (because raw edits in Lightroom are ignored), but it can be a problem when you try to merge jpeg or tiff files. Just a few pixels difference will make that fail.
 

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
Gentlemen, you are helping immensely, but I'm a very senior citizen and soft, apparently, in the head. I made a 3-image panorama successfully, but my 8-image attempt has failed several times. Two of the images merge, but that seems to be all. Hm.
You could upload the images (half-sized JPGs would do) to a file sharing site and let us have a look at them.
 

Richard Behan

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
49
Location
Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Gentlemen, thanks again for your expert help, which I'm applying with vigor: shooting in RAW, overlapping 1/3 +/-, constant focal length. I shot a 10-frame interior of my living room, and LR made a perfect panorama. I shot a 9-frame seascape and LR stitched only 3- 4 of the frames--an incomplete panorama.

I can't believe LR distinguishes between interior and outdoor subject matters, but I observed only two other difference between the experiments. The Panorama Preview for the seascape appeared far more quickly than the Preview for the interior scene. (The actual mergers took about the same length of time.) And the focal lengths differed: for the interior shots it was constant at 20mm; for the seascape it was constant at 85mm.

I'm about to jump. out of my skin with frustration, but hesitate to rely much longer on your generosity and time. I have one of our lovely Queen's books, but that was for LR 4. Do you know if her more recent books cover the topic of panoramas?

Thanks again.
 

Richard Behan

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
49
Location
Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x
Eureka, Gentlemen. Subject matter does bigod make a difference. I told my wife my sad tale, and she observed the interior sequence was comprised of sharply different images--the couch, the TV, etc. Nah, that can't be it, I responded, possessed of vastly superior photographic knowledge.

Well, she was right. Her intuition trumped my vanity.

My seascape shots--at 85mm--contained 4 frames with nothing but sparkling sea. One frame was not SHARPLY different from the next. So I shot the sequence again, at 50mm., so that all the shots contained a portion of the shoreline; now the frames WERE sharply different.

Voila. A fine panorama. LR needs, apparently, clearly distinguishable edges frame-to-frame. If it can't find one, it skips the intervening frames until it does.

Thanks again for all your help, with HDR and Panoramas, both. Much appreciated.

And now much relieved.
 

RoyReed

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2017
Messages
19
Location
London, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
6.x
The difference you're seeing between indoor and outdoor panorama sequences is probably down to parallax which will show much more clearly on near objects. It will make finding an acceptable merge much more difficult, hence taking longe rto compute. This is where a proper panorama head makes a significant difference.

A tip for shooting panoramas: set the camera to manual exposure (and manual light balance if you're shooting JPG) so that all the shots in the sequence have the same values.
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,091
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Roy,
You got it backwards. Richard's stitching worked OK on the interior shots, but not on the seascape. He correctly diagnosed the problem of the seascape not having enough distinguishing features for LR to find the stitching points.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,842
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Lightroom and all Panorama software works by mapping shapes in one frame with the same shape in another frame. Distinctive edges (tree trunks, lamps, people, cars etc.) give the panorama software an anchor. Without that anchor (e.g. open monotonous sea horizon) and every panorama software will fail the automatic stitching process.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
21,808
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
I have one of our lovely Queen's books, but that was for LR 4. Do you know if her more recent books cover the topic of panoramas?
In answer to your question, yes, the Classic eBooks are completely up to date. Lots has changed since LR4! But it looks like you got some great answers to your pano questions already.
 
Top