• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • 18 October 2022 It's Lightroom update time again and there's a new AI-based Masking tools and a new Content-Aware Remove Healing tool, as well as smaller features, new cameras, lenses and bug fixes! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Import Handle 'Second Copy'?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
42
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
Lightroom Version
6.14 [1149743]
Operating System
  1. Windows 10
I'm using the option 'Second Copy' during importing files.

But I don't know how to delete become obsolete files? I mean is LR aware of the existence of those files? Do I have to delete those files inside LR, if so where can I find the location in 'Library Module'?

Or can I go straight into Explorer (Windows OS), -> Drivelettter\folder\subfolder (date-stamped) and remove the redundant files.

With regards, Martin
 
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
3,740
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
After writing those "second copy" files, Lightroom forgets all about them, so you'll need to delete them using Explorer.

That said, they aren't a good backup for your images. The directory structure they are in does not match the directory structure that their Lightroom-maintained counterparts are in, so trying to restore them in case of disaster would be a very difficult process. The second copy process is meant to insure you have a second copy on disk long enough to properly back up your images and to feel safe in reformatting your card.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
6,136
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Delete them yourself, once you are sure you have a proper back of the photos you want to keep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top