• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

Import Handle 'Second Copy'?

Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
39
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
Lightroom Version
6.14 [1149743]
Operating System
Windows 10
I'm using the option 'Second Copy' during importing files.

But I don't know how to delete become obsolete files? I mean is LR aware of the existence of those files? Do I have to delete those files inside LR, if so where can I find the location in 'Library Module'?

Or can I go straight into Explorer (Windows OS), -> Drivelettter\folder\subfolder (date-stamped) and remove the redundant files.

With regards, Martin
 

Hal P Anderson

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
May 12, 2011
Messages
2,932
Location
Canada
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
After writing those "second copy" files, Lightroom forgets all about them, so you'll need to delete them using Explorer.

That said, they aren't a good backup for your images. The directory structure they are in does not match the directory structure that their Lightroom-maintained counterparts are in, so trying to restore them in case of disaster would be a very difficult process. The second copy process is meant to insure you have a second copy on disk long enough to properly back up your images and to feel safe in reformatting your card.
 

Jim Wilde

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,446
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Once created, Lightroom has no knowledge of those "Second Copy" files....so to delete them you must do it yourself using Finder/Explorer.
 

johnbeardy

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
4,978
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Delete them yourself, once you are sure you have a proper back of the photos you want to keep.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
39
Location
the Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
4.x
Once created, Lightroom has no knowledge of those "Second Copy" files....so to delete them you must do it yourself using Finder/Explorer.
Dear Jim,
Thank you for the clear answer,
Martin.
 
Top