Google Nik Collections now free, should I install in Lightroom

Status
Not open for further replies.

wtlloyd

Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Well, I'm a little hazy on this - I avoid going outside of Lightroom as much as possible.
Downloaded the newly free Nik Collections. I've no previous experience with them. There are two options presented for install, either to Photoshop or Lightroom. Should I install to either, or both?

Install in both. You don't have to use it...

Install to both.
One advantage with Photoshop is that you can apply NIK as a 'Smart' Filter to a Smart Object layer. Hence any adjustments are forever available if image is saved with layers (tiff or psd)

AFAIK, the Nik Collection has not been updated since Google bought Nik (2009?). For those of us that paid Google $150, thanks. :-(
I've since migrated to a more suitable product On1's Photo10

Install in both. You don't have to use it...
My feelings also :thumbsup:.

I got them when google offered the same deal a few years ago. Don't use them much but handy to have imo

thanks, folks. I'll install in both. Don't know how much I'll use it, which is why I never paid for it, but I'm sure to play with it if it's free...

I'm quite a fan of Silver Efex Pro, partly because of B&W and partly because I've always felt it's a really well-designed application.

I don't think SFX produces better B&W images, but a different tool makes you make different creative decisions and sometimes you'll prefer the result from SFX over Lr, and vice versa.