Fixing a mistake - accidentally applied same develop setting to whole catalog

Status
Not open for further replies.

lemayz

Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Hi everybody,

I am a beginner in Lightroom and new to this forum. I am hoping to get some help with a very silly mistake that I made:

[h=6]I have been editing some 200 pictures in Lightroom over several days. Today I went in to edit, and thought perhaps the pictures I edited before looked different, but didn't think anything of it. So I edited about 30 pics that I hadn't yet gotten to. Now, looking at the pictures I edited in previous days, I realize something happened and the SAME develop setting got applied to ALL of my pictures in the entire catalog. I am assuming when copying and pasting setting to a specific picture, perhaps I clicked "select all" and applied it to all of them. Any idea how to fix this? I could click "undo," but that would take a LONG time and I would lose all of the edits I did today. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks...!
[/h]

Welcome to the forum. If you have not quit LR and ended your session clicking undo {Cntl}{Z} is the easiest and quickest way. If you have closed LR and lost your 'undo' history, you need to look for the {Oops} key on your keyboard.

You are probably not going to find the {Oops} key. (I know I did not. ) What you will need to do is tedious if you don't have a catalog backup that occurred before "Oops". Of you do have a recent backup, you have to determine the edits made after the backup involve more work than going into each affected image's develop history to the history step before the mistake and removing the history steps that follow. You can remove the latest history step by adding a new (minor) adjustment to the develop history .

Last edited:
I have, unfortunately, closed the session. I can't seem to find this "Oops" key that you are referring to...can you please elaborate a bit more?