Files being altered AFTER save

  • Thread starter Thread starter daveh1701
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

daveh1701

Guest
Hi all,
new to the forum so forgive me is this is an answered question.

I'm having a problem when editing multiple images (develop)
Lets say that I have edited and saved image '''1. I move to image '''2 and notice that the thumbnail for '''1 has altered itself. The main alteration is that if I had cropped the image it seems to re-crop again making the final crop even smaller. Tone and WB settings also seem to be affected.

Naturally this has no impact on the saved image in the destination folder but it does mean that when I go back to previously edited images they are not what I expect to see.

Help greatly appreciated.

Dave.
 
Dave, first, welcome.

Second, clarify a bit. 'Edited and Saved image '''1'. Saved how? Lr doesn't Save, per se.
Here's how I'm interpreting what you said, correct or clarify as needed.

In the Develop module, with the filmstrip at the bottom of the screen visible, you make adjustments to image '''1. Subsequently, you Export image '''1 to a destination folder. Following that, you select/scroll to image '''2, which becomes the image in the main Develop display, and (most)selected/highlighted image in the filmstrip. You then see the filmstrip thumbnail of image '''1 change? If you scroll back to image '''1, it's different from the treatment you exported 1' seconds ago?

As you describe it, this is quite peculiar (as you've obviously noticed). That said, there are some features within Lr, that could possibly cause unintended changes, but we'll need to more info to diagnose. A detailed step by step description would be very helpful. Lr also has its own persnickety vocabulary, so we may be a bit pedantic, but it's all in the service of a clear verbalization of what's fundamentally a visual experience.

My first guess would be that you have Auto-Sync accidentally enabled in the Develop module, with multiple images selected. Have a look a the buttons, lower right hand Develop panel, and see what they say.
 
Hi Brad....sorry for the dodgy description.

"In the Develop module, with the filmstrip at the bottom of the screen visible, you make adjustments to image '''1. Subsequently, you Export image '''1 to a destination folder. Following that, you select/scroll to image '''2, which becomes the image in the main Develop display, and (most)selected/highlighted image in the filmstrip. You then see the filmstrip thumbnail of image '''1 change? If you scroll back to image '''1, it's different from the treatment you exported 1' seconds ago?"

What you have written above is exactly the problem (explained well)

Help much appreciated.

Dave.

Add. Just done a little test and I think that any changes I make are being duplicated after export. i.e if I have increased exposure by '.19 and brightness by 4, these figures are being added again after export together with any crop. The history bar does not indicate these changes however.
 
Did you by any chance (or by mistake) saved your exports over the originals? Assuming JPEG exports AND JPEG originals... ::)
 
Yes I am saving over the original.
I always have another folder that I keep untouched originals in, so overwriting the images I'm working on isn't an issue..........could this be the problem?
 
OH YES!!! You are heading right for trouble. :eek:

This means that you no longer have your original images (except somewhere in you backups Lightroom know nothing about)! This is not the way we should work with Lightroom as by doing so, you defeat its purpose (parametric editing).

I suggest you take a break for now, take care of you precious originals backups and have a good reading of The Starter Kit :icon_idea:

Then, come back anytime and we will be here to help you. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:
P.S.: I am sure Barad didn't tought you did so in the first place as for most (if not all), this is unthinkable! ;)
 
you select/scroll to image '''2, which becomes the image in the main Develop display, and (most)selected/highlighted image in the filmstrip. You then see the filmstrip thumbnail of image '''1 change? If you scroll back to image '''1, it's different from the treatment you exported 1' seconds ago?

Could you have Autosync set to ON....
 
Yes, Denis is absolutely correct (good catch Denis). Stop what you're doing right now! and get organized.
Of particular importance from the Starter Kit link Denis mentioned is Where's the Save Button?

Please feel free to continue to ask questions, but overwriting your original images is exactly the wrong thing to do with Lr. I don't say that with any intention of belittling your efforts :) , this is a common misconception among learning Lr users, because it's such a different paradigm from the software we've been working with all our lives.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Thank you all.
Lesson learned.
I suppose I made the mistake of thinking that as I could use CS2 with a blindfold, it would be the same for Lightroom.

Dave.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top