• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Dark mode now has a single preference for the whole site! It's a simple toggle switch in the bottom right-hand corner of any page. As it uses a cookie to store your preference, you may need to dismiss the cookie banner before you can see it. Any problems, please let us know!

File sizes?

Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kitten500

I am new to LR and have just noticed that after editing in LR via Develop - my file sizes are 5 times that of the original file. I am working in RAW (canon) with sizes around 1','''KB, after editing they become 5','''KB. At the rate my hard drive will be full in no time.

Is this the norm? Is this a trade off - when using undistrustive editing? And if I send the image to CS2 I then have a 2nd TIFF file of the same general size.

I am sure I am missing something? Any suggestions?

Welcome to the forum Kitten5''.
First please read and action the rules for signatures so we know how best to answer you.

To answer your question though, what are you importing your raw files as?

5','''kb?! Wow, you don't want too many of those hanging around!

Ok, well first things first, welcome to Lightroom Forums. When you get a second, would you mind updating your signature, as it makes it much easier to offer specific advice. There's instructions here and screenshots here. Thanks!

Now, back to your file sizes.... how about you tell us what settings you're using the Export dialog, because I think that's probably the key here. I'm guessing 16bit Tiffs, or something along those lines, possibly with supersize dimensions as well.

Last edited: