• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The August 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes advanced GPU support, batch HDR/pano merge and more. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has deleted photos on the desktop/mobile apps, as well as video support and batch metadata editing on Android. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

fails to complete a Catalog backup

mikecox

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
600
Location
San Diego
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom version: CC 2015.13 [ 1141928 ]
License: Creative Cloud
Operating system: Windows 10
Version: 10.0
Lr consistently fails to complete a Catalog backup. The effort ends with as "an error when reading from its preview cache and needs to quit."

I've rebooted my computer and made several more attempts but they all result in the same error.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,948
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
That could mean that the previews cache is corrupted, even though you do not see it in day to day work. Open your catalog folder and move the '<catalog name> previews.lrdata' folder to a different location. It doesn't matter where, just move it out of the catalog folder. Start Lightroom. Initially, Lightroom will not show any previews because it needs to rebuild the cache, so you'll see the previews appear one by one. Scroll a few times so Lightroom generates more previews (it only generates previews for visible images), then quit Lightroom and let it make a backup. If this backup succeeds, then it was indeed the previews cache so you can trash the old one.
 

mikecox

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
600
Location
San Diego
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
That could mean that the previews cache is corrupted, even though you do not see it in day to day work. Open your catalog folder and move the '<catalog name> previews.lrdata' folder to a different location. It doesn't matter where, just move it out of the catalog folder. Start Lightroom. Initially, Lightroom will not show any previews because it needs to rebuild the cache, so you'll see the previews appear one by one. Scroll a few times so Lightroom generates more previews (it only generates previews for visible images), then quit Lightroom and let it make a backup. If this backup succeeds, then it was indeed the previews cache so you can trash the old one.
Thanks for your response, sorry mine took so long, yours got lost in the shuffle and I had to search to find it!

I did as you suggested but the problem persisted. So I upgraded to Classic CC and converted to the new file format. Then I opened Lr and closed it again. This time the backup finished without the error.

I'm a little nervous about opening my other catalog. Will I be automatically prompted to upgrade it?
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
8,948
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Remember you can't go backwards, so once you upgrade you need to only use Classic on that catalog.
True, but the upgraded catalog is a copy, so you will still have the original that you can use to go back.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,848
Location
Cape Coral, FL
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
True, but the upgraded catalog is a copy, so you will still have the original that you can use to go back.
Of course, I should have elaborated "and any changes you make in the new catalog won't be there if you go back to the original copy".

Moot of course as there's really no need to, but the reticence in the upgrade spurred the comment.
 

mikecox

Active Member
Joined
May 23, 2011
Messages
600
Location
San Diego
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thanks for the f\u comments. I now upgraded to Lr Classic CC both my catalogs are working and backing up. I will not try to "go back" unless someone is holding a knife to my neck (-:

I will update my Sig now.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2009
Messages
1,848
Location
Cape Coral, FL
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
The old catalog is still there, you might consider renaming itand/or moving it elsewhere so it's never accidentally referenced.

And if the old preview folder is still there (it likely converted) you can just delete it.

being careful of course to make sure it's the old, not new name you delete. I always rename my lightroom catalog with each major version just to be certain.
 
Top