• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • You may have noticed this website was offline on Saturday 22nd September. Our web host suffered what is known as "a perfect storm". Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. As a result of restoring backups, we appear to have lost about 18 hours of posts, but hopefully nothing more. If your post seems to have been affected, please do repost, and we look forward to helping. If you have any questions, you're welcome to use the Contact Webmaster link on the page footer.
  • Lightroom Classic 7.5 and Lightroom CC 1.5 have just gone live, and there's some exciting mobile updates to follow. And the big news... my Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro book has just been released too!
  • Are you ever disappointed with your photos? Do you get frustrated when you’re editing because you’ve been told to move certain sliders, but never been told WHY? Do you wish you could transform your photos without having to spend hours in front of the computer? In my new book, Adobe Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro, you’ll learn:
    • how to to analyze a photo like a pro, saving you hours of frustration.
    • WHY you might want to move specific sliders, instead of just following recipes.
    • what the sliders are doing behind the scenes.
    • how to use sliders together, instead of in isolation, so you can get the optimal result
    The book is based on the cloud-native Lightroom CC desktop and mobile apps, but the principles also apply to Lightroom 6 and Lightroom Classic. The sliders are arranged into slightly different panels, but there's an included PDF that shows you where to find them in Lightroom Classic/6.

EXPORT TO issue Help Please

selsong

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
12
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#1
Operating System: winows 10
Exact Lightroom Version (Help menu > System Info):Lightroom version: 6.5.1

Hi I wonder if anyone could tell me why this happens:

When I have worked on a photo and want to export it as a Jpg.....I find that every time I have to go back and click on "Add to this Catalog".

Why wont Lightroom remember this setting and do it every time?
Many thanks for your help
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
13,851
Location
Bellaire, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#2
In the export sub menu, there are several export choices: "Export...", "Export with Previous" and any of several user defined Export presets. "Export..." brings up the Export dialog to be customized as desired and as long as you do not exit LR in the meantime, the "Add to this Catalog" checkbox remains checked. "Export with Previous" is probably the option that you want to repeat the previous export parameters. However, if you are wanting to repeat a customized set of export parameters between sessions, then you should create an Export preset which will 'remember' the settings in a preset file to be applies as desired.
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
261
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#3
In the export sub menu, there are several export choices: "Export...", "Export with Previous" and any of several user defined Export presets. "Export..." brings up the Export dialog to be customized as desired and as long as you do not exit LR in the meantime, the "Add to this Catalog" checkbox remains checked. "Export with Previous" is probably the option that you want to repeat the previous export parameters. However, if you are wanting to repeat a customized set of export parameters between sessions, then you should create an Export preset which will 'remember' the settings in a preset file to be applies as desired.
And if you do this, it is not uncommon to tweak the settings as you get it just as you want. If you do tweak the settings you need to re-apply them, or the new settings get forgotten.
In the export dialogue, on the left hand side, right click (Windows) (use the equivalent command on a Macintosh) the preset and select 'Update with current settings'.
 

selsong

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
12
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#4
Many thanks for this. Export with Previous seems to be the one I need to use all the time :)
 

selsong

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
12
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#5
HI again. What I find happening regularly is that the export dialog forgets my previous export...all the time...so i have to go to the export setting and re click on my User Preset which I have created. I use Control shift Alt E ( export with Previous) and it works some of the time, but then will just not work. when I look at the export dialog all the setting I have clicked are now unclicked????

Frustrating. Can you help...again please:)
 

LRList001

Active Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
261
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
6.x / CC 2015.x
#6
HI again. What I find happening regularly is that the export dialog forgets my previous export...all the time...so i have to go to the export setting and re click on my User Preset which I have created. I use Control shift Alt E ( export with Previous) and it works some of the time, but then will just not work. when I look at the export dialog all the setting I have clicked are now unclicked????

Frustrating. Can you help...again please:)
Are you quite certain you have saved the new settings? In the left side of the export window, select the export preset you want to alter, in the right hand window make the changes you need, in the left hand window, right-click on the preset and select 'Update with current settings'.
 

selsong

New Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2015
Messages
12
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
#7
HI . thanks again. I have set these setting correctly now and will let you know if this gets rid of my issue .:))
 
Top