Thanks for your input to all of you....I am slowly getting to grips (I think LOL)
Aha.....so I click on import from a device and it will store the files (i presume) now then....when it saves them to a new location does it store them as CR2 or dng
I notice in my catolgue it says 221 photos....when I looked at them in grid preview some of them are CR2 and also DNG files are (I did export some from lightroom as dng files to a different location....external hard drive) is there any need to do this as lightroom seems to save the files anyway...
Hou la la! Seem you don't get it
yet! No offence, we will help you get it...
The way you do it is like in the film days when the film was shot, you buyed a new one to put in the camera to continue shooting. Do you really want to buy a new memory card each time one is filled with images! :shock:
I don't believe! :roll: You really have to store your images somewhere else than on the memory card like on a hard disk. So, the option to import from the memory card with the option to "
Add photos to the catalog without moving"
is not for you unless you copied the photos to an hard disk first before importing. This line appear right at top of the import dialog box beside
File handling. Notice the arrows to the right? They give you the following options:
- Add photos to the catalog without moving
- Copy photos to a new location and add to catalog
- Move photos to a new location and add to catalog
- Copy photos as Digital Negative (DNG) and add to catalog
#2 will copy you images to the choosen location as your original CR2 file format.
#3 is not a good idea until you have a backup of your originals as it will empty the memory card from the chosen images. Best used for images already on hard disk from older days or from someone else external hard disk for example.
#4 is like #2 except that you will now have DNG files RATHER than the original CR2. Choosing between option #2 or #4 is another discussion in itself and is much discussed elsewhere in our forums.
The next line of the Import dialog box is the
Move to:. Here, you decide where on which hard disk or network storage ressource available. You MUST CHOOSE ONE!
Then is the
Organize: line. We can discuss a long time about it and again, see elsewhere in the forums. If you start, I suggest from the arrows at right of the line to choose
By date: 2''5/2''5-12-17 or one similar one combined with option #2 above
(or #4 if you already know that you prefer DNG to CR2).
Under that, there is a tall list of what Lightroom found to import. Check as appropriate.
Notice that below that tall box, you can put a check mark beside
Backup to:. If you check it
this is the only time that lightroom save the files or originals if you will... As we saw, otherwise, it copies or move or translate to DNG...
ALWAYS remember that the lightroom database is a single file with the
.lrcat extension! It DOES NOT CONTAIN any images but IT DOES CONTAIN all the modifications you did to your images. The images you see in the Library module are created by Lightroom in the
.lrdata folder or package
(Win/Mac) but are not the ones you are working on. It is when you go to the Develop module that your originals are needed.
This is a bunch of information to start with and I will stop here for now in the hope to cover these first questions from you.
All this was not specific to the machine you use
(Mac, PC?) nor to the Lightroom version you have at hand. If you feel that you will stay here for more help, this will eventually be needed for us to know such things. So, may I please request you to fill your signature as per
Rules & Regulations: Signature. Go to "User CP" in the blue bar above just under the LR logo...