• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Empty Folder in Library

JaceKessler

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
5
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic version: 10.4 (Catalog-2-2-v10)
Operating System
  1. macOS 11.0 Big Sur
Hello,

I have a couple of folders within my library/catalog that are showing "0" (zero) photos in those folders even though I've previously imported, edited, and exported those images as edits/selects within LR. Those images exist on my hard drives (primary & backups), but don't show up as "missing," or anything else in LR. When I click on those two empty folders I get a message stating, "No photos in selected Folder." I don't know if something happened during the last catalog migration, or what, but I would like to be able to move the original SOOC files back into those folders within the LR library/catalog while retaining the adjustments I made to them.

If I right click on the empty folder and choose the "Synchronize Folder" option and then only select the, "Scan for metadata updates" option, will that do what I'm trying to accomplish? I don't want to re-import the images and lose all the adjustments I've already made. Or, what can I do?

Thanks for the help,
Jace Kessler
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,075
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
It sounds like at some time you selected the images and chose "Remove ..." When you do that, you were presented with two options: "Remove from Lightroom" and "Remove from Disk" . When you chose "Remove from Lightroom", you left the images on the disk and only Removed them from the catalog. When the Folder count in the folder panel shows zero, it only means there are no images in that folder that are imported. Re importing is the obvious choice in that case. If however you think you have imported this images and don't want to risk importing a second copy, then you need to verify the images exist in another folder and are in your Lightroom Catalog. If you do find them in another folder, they probably got in two folders because you copied them using Finder to another folder. Copy is not a filesystem operation that is permitted in Lightroom. In Lightroom you can only Move a file, Rename it or Delete. it.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,252
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Another possibility is catalog corruption. I have seen this problem being reported several times. Images are present, they show in ‘All Photographs’, but not in their folder(s).
 

JaceKessler

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
5
It sounds like at some time you selected the images and chose "Remove ..." When you do that, you were presented with two options: "Remove from Lightroom" and "Remove from Disk" . When you chose "Remove from Lightroom", you left the images on the disk and only Removed them from the catalog. When the Folder count in the folder panel shows zero, it only means there are no images in that folder that are imported. Re importing is the obvious choice in that case. If however you think you have imported this images and don't want to risk importing a second copy, then you need to verify the images exist in another folder and are in your Lightroom Catalog. If you do find them in another folder, they probably got in two folders because you copied them using Finder to another folder. Copy is not a filesystem operation that is permitted in Lightroom. In Lightroom you can only Move a file, Rename it or Delete. it.
Thanks, Cletus. I wouldn't have removed them consciously, but could have done so accidentally.
Thank you Paul. Yes, it is and has been ticked.
PS, they aren't showing in LR when I searched for them under all photographs, which is 73K in my catalog. I guess to re-import is the only option? If I try to re-import using the Synchronize Folder option and check the, "Scan for metadata updates" box, will those files carry the adjustments originally made via the metadata or not?
 

JaceKessler

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
5
Thank you Paul. Yes, it is and has been ticked.
PS, they aren't showing in LR when I searched for them under all photographs, which is 73K in my catalog. I guess to re-import is the only option? If I try to re-import using the Synchronize Folder option and check the, "Scan for metadata updates" box, will those files carry the adjustments originally made via the metadata or not?
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,075
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
PS, they aren't showing in LR when I searched for them under all photographs, which is 73K in my catalog. I guess to re-import is the only option? If I try to re-import using the Synchronize Folder option and check the, "Scan for metadata updates" box, will those files carry the adjustments originally made via the metadata or not?

The original adjustments are stored in the catalog. If Write metadata to XMP has been checked. Those changes will be in the XMP section of certain file types or in a separate XMP file for proprietary RAW file types.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 

JaceKessler

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
5
The original adjustments are stored in the catalog. If Write metadata to XMP has been checked. Those changes will be in the XMP section of certain file types or in a separate XMP file for proprietary RAW file types.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks again, Cletus. These particular images are from 2017, so let me try one the old catalogs and see if I can find them there. If not, I'll just re-import if needed.
 
Top