Editing without creating new version…

barry.thall

New Member
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2024
Messages
4
Operating System
  1. macOS 26 Tahoe
If I have a photo on the cloud that I download to my local computer and edit, I believe those edits don’t automatically sync back up to the cloud. If I hit the button then that says something to the order of “Sent one photo to the cloud,” will those edits sync back up to the cloud as a single photo, or will I then have two versions in the cloud? Thanks!
 
Which "cloud" is the photo on? How are you downloading it to your local computer, and what app do you then use to edit the photo? Without knowing that information it's difficult to answer your questions. It sounds as though you are using the Lightroom Desktop app in "Local" mode to edit the photo, then using the "Copy 1 Photo to the Cloud" button? Is that correct?
 
OK, you've answered the last question, but without answers to the first 3 questions that I asked we still can't answer your questions.
 
On Adobe Cloud. Downloaded with “Make available on local” (paraphrasing), and editing on LrD while offline.
 
On Adobe Cloud. Downloaded with “Make available on local” (paraphrasing), and editing on LrD while offline.
Can you be more specific? Was the option that you used called "Archive 1 Photo Locally"? If it was, that command actually removes the image from the cloud. And if you then edited the image using the LrD Local option and then used the "Copy 1 Photo to the Cloud" button, you've then gone full circle and put the image back into the cloud (with edits).

If that was your desired result you could save yourself the hassle.....simply leave the image in the cloud and edit it using LrD in the Cloud mode (which will download a temporary copy to local hard drive for the editing, but all the edits are applied to the master images in the cloud). The Archive option is really intended for use when you want to completely remove an image (with edits) from the cloud.

But answering your original question, if my understanding of the workflow that you used is correct, then no you will not end up with two copies of the image in the cloud.
 
Back
Top