Editing with Presets

contact

Jesse
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
2
Location
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Lightroom Version
Adobe Creative Cloud
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.14 Mojave
Hello!

I’m really hoping I can get some answers. I’ve been editing with Presets on Lightroom for a while but noticed when I tried to print a photo via Walmart’s website or Walgreens, the tones from preset are gone and I’m left with only any changes made to the exposure. I don’t have photos to attach at the moment but I’m hoping I can get some answers as to why this happens. I shoot in RAW and convert to JPEG and save as JPEG as well. Photos posted on my website and online are fine but there’s been other platforms I try to upload photos to and end up with this issue.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,252
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Presets are nothing but a semi-automated way of setting sliders, so I don't see any explanation how or why this could happen. You'll need to supply us with some examples.

By the way: 'Adobe Creative Cloud' is not a Lightroom version. Please also tell us which version you use.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,687
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Also you need to understand that Lightroom is a parametric editor. This means that original file is not changed as you make any kind of edit in Lightroom. So if you edit in Lightroom and then send the original to Wallgreens none of you edits will be there and Walgreens is likely to make their own color corrections.

In order to have your edits included you need to Export all the images first. You should consider these "temporary" copies use only for the purpose of printing. Your original is still on your hard drive and the edits are still in the Lightroom catalog.

-louie
 

contact

Jesse
Joined
Aug 6, 2019
Messages
2
Location
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Presets are nothing but a semi-automated way of setting sliders, so I don't see any explanation how or why this could happen. You'll need to supply us with some examples.

By the way: 'Adobe Creative Cloud' is not a Lightroom version. Please also tell us which version you use.

Sorry, I use Lightroom Classic CC. The one that COMES with the Adobe Creative Cloud desktop app. I’ll attach a photo of how it is with the preset and a photo of how it is when I upload it to certain platforms or when I try to print.
FDA46B0F-0DDD-4F86-95F9-73EDD4B165CA.jpeg


8A8D53FA-7119-4514-BD7C-7A11604C9E38.jpeg
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,252
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
How do you create the photo to upload? Like Louie already explained, Lightroom does not alter the original. So to upload a photo to an online service you need to export a jpeg copy. Make sure you select sRGB as color space for such a photo.

12874
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2018
Messages
430
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
This looks like photo recorded in Adobe RGB colorspace but displayed as sRGB. As johan said, be sure to export as sRGB.
Larger Colorspace (like Adobe RGB) must be used only if you are sure the destination is color managed.
 
Top