• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! New cameras (including the Canon R5/R6), lens profiles and bug fixes, and the ability to disable built-in lens corrections for specific new cameras. Here's the usual list

Edit in Photoshop CS5 does not stack new file with original

Status
Not open for further replies.

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
I am using LR3.2 x64 with PS CS5 x64 (under Windows 7 x64) and when I choose Edit in Photoshop CS5, edit the file, do a save, close the image, close CS5; end result is the new file sitting beside the original, but not stacked.

Any ideas why? Perhaps a setting I have missed? This worked perfectly in LR2.7 with CS4.

Thanks, Paul
 

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
Are you looking in a LR Folder or Collection ? Stacks won't show up in Collections.
 

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
In a folder. I am able to select my original and edited images and stack them manually - which is what I have had to do since I upgraded to LR3. They appear in the stack once I do it manually, they just don't stack automatically with an edit the way they used to in 2.7

Thanks, Paul
 

b_gossweiler

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,207
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Paul,

Just to make sure, have you checked "Stack with Original" when launching PS5?

Beat
 

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
I don't have that option in the External Editing preferences. Where do you get that dialog please?

See the attachment for my dialog's screendump.

Thanks, Paul
 

b_gossweiler

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,207
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Paul,

The screenshot is from the "Edit in Photoshop Elements" dialog, and I get this option for all my external editors when choosing "Edit Copy with Lightroom Adjustments". So I thought the Edit in CS5 would show the same.

Beat
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,479
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Beat, when using the Edit In CS5 option there is a similar dialog with the 'stacking' option, but only for non-RAW files. For RAW, I had thought that stacking is always assumed as I couldn't find a way to say that I don't want the Tiff/Psd stacked with the original RAW.

However, have just discovered something that may be what's causing the problem here, so an independent verification would help:

1. Using "Edit in CS5" on a JPG, and uncheck 'Stack with Original' and when I click Save in CS5 the Tif is returned alongside the JPG, but not stacked....as expected.
2. Repeat using a RAW file, thus no option to select/deselect stacking, press Save and Tif is returned alongside the RAW, but not stacked.
3. Repeat 1, this time select "Stack with Original" and the Tif is returned and stacked, as expected.
4. Repeat 2, and hey presto, the Tif is returned and stacked.

Conclusion: the "Stack with Original" option, although only available with non-RAW files, is "sticky" in relation to RAWs.....so whatever you had the option set to the last time you edited a non-RAW file is the option you get when you edit a RAW.

Paul, suggest you try an "Edit in..." on a JPG, select "Stack with Original', then try the same on a RAW and see what you get.
 

b_gossweiler

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,207
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
[quote author=TNG link=topic=11714.msg7873'#msg7873' date=129'86461']
Beat, when using the Edit In CS5 option there is a similar dialog with the 'stacking' option, but only for non-RAW files. For RAW, I had thought that stacking is always assumed as I couldn't find a way to say that I don't want the Tiff/Psd stacked with the original RAW.
[/quote]

Thanks Jim, good work! IMHO, having the option only available for non-Raws when editing in CS5 does not make sense at all, I think it should be available whenever a derivate file is generated.

Beat
 

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
To be honest that sounds a little more like a bug to me, does 3.3RC have the same problem ?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
12,479
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Nik, it seems the same on my 3.2/CS5 and my 3.3RC/CS3 systems....BUT I've just checked and it seems that it's the same using LR2.7 and CS3. I guess that was why I was asking if anybody else can verify this (just in case it's a problem with my systems).
 

pjamedia

Active Member
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
101
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
@TNG,

Jim, you are a genius! I just tried the 'Edit in Photoshop CS5' option on one of the unstacked PSD files in my catalog, and the dialog box (which you quite rightly pointed out, does not display when choosing to edit a raw file) had the 'Stack with Original' option un-checked. I checked this, saved the copy in CS5 and voilà, it stacked the copy with the original. Then tried editing a raw (CR2 in my case) file in CS5 and now stacking is working fine for RAWs also. Looks like there is a missing 'Stack with original' checkbox on the 'External editing' preferences dialog. Hopefully Adobe will realise this omission and add it in a future release. The workaround is a gooden though. Thanks for your help.


Paul A
 

b_gossweiler

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
3,207
Location
Zurich, Switzerland
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
I think it can be considered a bug that the option is not presented (but respected) for Raw. You could report it with the link in the link bar of this page.

Beat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top