Does editing in Classic use the preview version if you re already cloud based

Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
41
Location
Houston, Texas, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Lightroom Version
CC
Operating System
  1. macOS 10.14 Mojave
  2. iOS
My entire collection of 60,000+ photos is in Creative Cloudand I use LR CC on the Mac desktop, iPhone and iPad. My account is a 1TB and LR CC only account. If I add Classic and Photoshop to my account, and turn on syncing in LR Classic, will I be editing a preview or the full image. And, if it is the full image, is this possible a way of getting backings from a CC account? Currently, you can only get backs of the original, or the final as a jpg.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,252
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
If you turn on sync in Lightroom Classic, then Lightroom Classic will download a copy of all 60,000 photos to your hard drive. Any edits you make will be on those full size images, and sync back to the cloud. That means that the local images can also function as a backup of your cloud images.
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
41
Location
Houston, Texas, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Thank you so much, that's the best news yet! :)

Marc


If you turn on sync in Lightroom Classic, then Lightroom Classic will download a copy of all 60,000 photos to your hard drive. Any edits you make will be on those full size images, and sync back to the cloud. That means that the local images can also function as a backup of your cloud images.
 
Top