DNG Previews

Status
Not open for further replies.

sizzlingbadger

Senior Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2009
Messages
2,561
Location
New Zealand
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I convert all my RAW files to DNG during import. I decided to update the preview in my DNG's today as I believe this is a manual task only.

If I make develop changes to a photo these are not automatically updated in the DNG preview right ? I have to run the manual update to re-sync the DNG profile (this is what I have been led to believe so far anyway)

I noticed as this was running that LR was creating backups of every DNG file in the Trash folder, this is going to use an awful lot of space !!! Maybe it would be better if it removed these every so often once the file has been updated and is safe. If your image storage disk is over 5'% full then you would not be able to accomplish the DNG update (in one go anyway) as you would run out of disk space.
 
Nik, I don't have this happening? What trash folder, the usual bin??
How are you doing the update? From the Metadata drop down menu??
 
I went to all photo's in the catalogue library view, selected all, then did the update from the metadata drop down menu. I could empty the Trash as it filled but I was a bit surprised as I would have thought it would have created a temp backup of each file in the background and then deleted it once each update was confirmed and the user would not be aware of it.

It was using the normal Trash folder on the mac toolbar.
 
Ah ha Nik, are you talking about the .bak file that turned up sometime later in my trash??
 
I don't think this is the way it ought to work either Nik so am making enquiries.
Maybe one of the other gurus can check on a PC to see if this behaviour applies on Windows as well.
 
also.... am I right in thinking that you *have* to update the DNG previews manually and it doesn't happen automatically when you make adjustments to a image in the develop module?
 
also.... am I right in thinking that you *have* to update the DNG previews manually and it doesn't happen automatically when you make adjustments to a image in the develop module?
That is correct, develop data, etc is written back to the file but no previews are written unless on export, so if you want the original preview updated it has to be done manually other wise there would be a lot of writing to files.
 
Not as far as I know, anyone else have some ideas??;)
 
Just run a little test - xmp sidecars only update those that have changed, but I haven't checked DNG's.
 
I tested.....

Selected 1' images and did update DNG.
Then selected the same 1' images and updated again. It updated the files and put .bak files in the Trash folder on both occasions.

There is no way to automate or intelligently update the metadata & previews in DNG's in Lightroom which is a bit disappointing seeing as Adobe designed DNG's in the first place.
 
This has been discussed Nik and there is not expected to be any fix before the next version release, sorry.:cry:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top