• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • It's Lightroom update time again. Just some small tweaks as well as cameras/lenses and bugs! See this blog post for Lightroom Classic and this blog post for the Lightroom Cloud Ecosystem changes.

Deleting Pictures in LRC Folders

Joined
Sep 22, 2021
Messages
6
Location
Indian Land, SC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Lightroom Version
11.1
Operating System
  1. macOS 12 Monterey
In Lightroom Classic V-11, does deleting pictures in folders, delete them from your Catalog? As background, I imported my Apple Photos to Lightroom. I want to eliminate the Lightroom Folders IF it will not impact what is "Synced" and "All Photographs." Thank you in advance.

1641613808069.png
 
Joined
May 9, 2015
Messages
1,065
Location
Palo Alto, CA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic
If you Remove or Delete an image from a folder, it takes it out of everywhere in LrC. It will no longer be in the All Photograps, the Allo Synced Photographs, or any collection, book, or slideshow.

If you don't want images in a bunch of folders, using the Folders Panel drag them to a master folder of your choice. This will physically move them on disk.
 
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
18,997
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The Filesystem stores images in Folders. Lightroom Classic references those files from the folder path. If you delete them from the folder, you will delete them from the computer and from Lightroom Classic.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
11,997
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
What you need to do is three things:
1: Go to Preferences - Lightroom Sync and change the location for images that are downloaded from the cloud. Choose a normal folder in your folder hierarchy. Lightroom can created a dated subfolder hierarchy if you want.
2: Move the images in the existing ‘Imported Photos’ folders to your normal folder hierarchy.
3: Now that the ‘Imported Photos’ folders are empty, you can right-click on them and remove them from the catalog. That will also remove the ‘Device’.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2021
Messages
6
Location
Indian Land, SC
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The Filesystem stores images in Folders. Lightroom Classic references those files from the folder path. If you delete them from the folder, you will delete them from the computer and from Lightroom Classic.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thanks.
The Filesystem stores images in Folders. Lightroom Classic references those files from the folder path. If you delete them from the folder, you will delete them from the computer and from Lightroom Classic.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Thank You.
What you need to do is three things:
1: Go to Preferences - Lightroom Sync and change the location for images that are downloaded from the cloud. Choose a normal folder in your folder hierarchy. Lightroom can created a dated subfolder hierarchy if you want.
2: Move the images in the existing ‘Imported Photos’ folders to your normal folder hierarchy.
3: Now that the ‘Imported Photos’ folders are empty, you can right-click on them and remove them from the catalog. That will also remove the ‘Device’.
Thank’s to everyone. Problem solved.
 
Top