• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Are you using the cloud-based Lightroom apps for Windows, Mac, iOS, Android, Apple TV and Web? Then you'll love my new book, Adobe Lightroom - Edit Like a Pro!

    You'll learn how to use the Lightroom cloud ecosystem to organize, edit and share your photos. You'll also come to understand the thought processes used by professional photographers when they're editing their own photos, so you can transform your photos quickly and easily. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Deleting from phone also deletes on desktop

Miscolo

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
3
Location
Glasgow
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi folks,

I want to:

1. take raw photos on LR mobile for iPhone
2. sync them to my desktop for keeps
3. remove them from my phone

I can't do step 3. If I delete a photo from 'Lightroom Photos' on my phone, it's removed from 'All Synced Photographs' on my desktop.

I believe I'm being quite stupid, but any help is much appreciated. Is it something to do with Collections? Do I have to move synced photos into a Collection to keep them?

(I spent some time searching the forum for this answer, apologies if I missed it.)

Thanks
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,146
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Move them into a collection on the iPhone, then when the sync has completed (i.e. the raws have been uploaded to the servers) on the Collections page on the iPhone click on the 3 dots to the right of the Collection that now contains your raw captures. This reveals the settings menu for that collection, select "Clear Cache" which will delete from the iPhone any downloaded smart previews and the raw originals.....but leaving the raw originals on the server AND back in LR Desktop.

If you don't want the originals back on the iPhone when you decide to edit or view them, also make sure the LRmobile preference setting "Load Full Resolution" is disabled.
 

Miscolo

New Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2017
Messages
3
Location
Glasgow
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thanks very much Jim. Just one thing: I don't have the option to move photos to a Collection, only copy. So I would copy photos to a new Collection, and sync that Collection to my desktop?
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,146
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
I guess....but what I do is designate one of my collections as the "Auto Import" collection, meaning any picture I take with either the iPhone camera or the Lightroom camera is automatically added to that collection....so take the pictures, and once they've synced you can remove them from the iPhone at any time afterwards by using the "Clear Cache" command.
 

Ganseerty

New Member
Joined
May 19, 2017
Messages
3
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
I guess....but what I do is designate one of my collections as the "Auto Import" collection, meaning any picture I take with either the iPhone camera or the Lightroom camera is automatically added to that collection....so take the pictures, and once they've synced you can remove pictures from the iPhone at any time afterwards by using the "Clear Cache" command.
??? without using any tool . this is the first time I heard this advice .in other word , if the deleted photos has been covered , they will be erased on your phone at the same time , is that correct?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
13,146
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
if the deleted photos has been covered , they will be erased on your phone at the same time , is that correct?

Sorry, I don't understand what you mean when you say "if the deleted photos has been covered"?
 
Top