creation date of web gallery

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris Shain

Member
Premium Classic Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
31
Location
Sydney, AU
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
still working with 1.4.1 ! (haven't had enough clear space to get 2. out of the box)

I use the web gallery frequently - and after I've finished I put the gallery with the folder that has the original files. I've noticed when I subsequently synchronise the folder, LR says its importing xxx pics that were created in 2''1 whats this about ?? - the meta data on the actual web size images has the correct date, once the web gallery is imported I can't see any creation date (using the finder or any other app) that has 2''1.

just curious
 
You should never put the resulting Web Gallery with the originals in the first place! As you have seen, synchronising add everything new under the original folder by default...
 
thanks Denis, I'm NOT having any problems with any of the files (my original post is a little ambiguous ) What I meant to say was that the 2''1 creation date of the gallery does not appear anywhere after the gallery has been created - ie everything is perfectly normal. I'm not sure why the web gallery files and the original files can't be in the same place ?

chris
 
Chris Shain;4'22' said:
thanks Denis, I'm NOT having any problems with any of the files (my original post is a little ambiguous ) What I meant to say was that the 2''1 creation date of the gallery does not appear anywhere after the gallery has been created - ie everything is perfectly normal.
Is that because I am french canadian but I do not understand your 2''1 creation date of the gallery as Lightroom first went to market on February 19th 2''7... :roll: Or... are you talking about photos creation date?...
I'm not sure why the web gallery files and the original files can't be in the same place ?
As you noticed, when you select synchronise, ALL new files (those from the gallery and its thumbnails) will be selected for import. I am sure you do not want to be confused between editing the original or some rendered version...

Most just output from Lightroom, do whatever needed with that output and then delete it to save space as we always can generate the ouput again or a new version of it. By output I mean Export, PDF Slideshows, Web Galleries and so on.
 
Chris, I think I'm hip to what you mean, but I can't explain what you're seeing. My advice is what you already know, upgrade.

Note to Denis: If I understand correctly, the only place the '2''1' is appearing is in the import dialog portion of the synchronization. Everything else seems normal.
 
Chris, I think I have to let you in the good hands of other members of the team.
Thanks for the note Brad but event your word "hip" I do not understand. :roll:
I have reread the whole topic and I am just getting more confused.
Will let this one to you until I am enlightened... ;)

P.S.: PM for "hip"... No need to pollute here. :D
 
thanks Denis + Brad,

My apologies, when I look back at my original post, I realise it was not expressed very well at all ! I sync the original folder that has the original edited work in LR ( I have already put the gallery file onto my drive) when I do this, the dialogue box comes up that says "do you want to import x files into folder x" - the thing I was curious about is that it always says (in the grey type up the top of the dialog box) the files were created in 2''1. it doesn't seem to affect the files themselves - I assume its something to do with of the part app thats actually creating the gallery.

Brad - yep I'm allocating some time this week to upgrade - I'm old and grey enough to not rush into these things (no matter how simple they seem on the surface !!) so I can go about a upgrade methodically and I won't get stressed if it all a goes pearshaped.

Denis - I take your point about saving the web galleries - but I don't leave these galleries on my server so if a client wants to see old material, I simply go back to the folder and dump the gallery folder on my server (quick and easy) Its when the dialogue box comes up that I was curious about. I noticed this date abnormality again for a gallery I've just put up of images I've made of the first Cafe presse franchise in Aus this week - they seem to have taken over Canada - maybe they'll take over here !!

thanks for your input - these discussions always spark an idea, however small.

Chris
 
Bunch of gray hair that I've earned as well. :) For what it's worth, the upgrade to 2.3 should go very smoothly. It will work with a copy of your catalog, so your normal backup hygiene should be fine. Not to mention, you can have both versions 1.x and 2.x installed at the same time. They can't work together on the same data set, etc. But it does enable you to step across the gap, rather than leaping the chasm.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top