• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom 6 questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom 6 - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. When you upgrade to subscription, there's also a Lightroom Classic version available.
  • It's Lightroom update time again! As well as the usual new cameras, lens profiles and bug fixes, Lightroom Classic has a new local Hue tool, improved ISO-specific defaults, performance improvements and more. The Lightroom cloud ecosystem also gets local Hue, as well as Versions, Activity notifications, text watermarking and the ability to upload your own Discovery tutorials. Here are the full updates about Lightroom Classic and the Lightroom cloud ecosystem.

Copying / Transferring Collection Assignments

John Barrow

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2017
Messages
4
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi,

I use collections extensively. Unfortunately, an image may appear in its original form in one collection and as a virtual copy in another collection. Sometimes both the original and the virtual copy appear in the same collection. I'm trying to simplify things and reduce confusion by making sure that only the most recent edit appears in all the collections, if necessary replacing older versions.

How do I do this effectively? Can I copy or transfer the collection assignments of one image to another image? With keywords, one can copy / cut the keywords attached to one image and paste them to another, but there does not seem to be anything similar for collections.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, and needless to say I'm being far more careful in any new assignments to collections!
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service

John Barrow

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2017
Messages
4
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Hi John, welcome to the forum!

You're right, it's a pain. The best solution I've come across is using the Sync-o-matic plug-in to copy collection metadata to all the photos with the same name/metadata. Syncomatic - Sync files with same name or time
Hi Victoria,

Thanks for your welcome and response. This seems a great piece of software. A possible problem is that it uses the file extension to differentiate source and destination files. In my case source and destination are all *.nef files. I've downloaded the trial and will have time later this afternoon or tomorrow to experiment with it and see whether there are other possibilities for distinguishing source and destination. If so, it will solve a lot of problems!
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
It'll sync across stacks as well, so works well for VC's and Masters.
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,422
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
"A possible problem is that it uses the file extension to differentiate source and destination files. In my case source and destination are all *.nef files."

Not really. It uses the file type, not the extension and has an option to handle cases like yours (as well as stacks). You have to tell it which collection contains the sourc files, and which contains the target files.
 

John Barrow

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2017
Messages
4
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thanks. I'll have time to tackle this tomorrow and to become familiar with its capabilities.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Not really. It uses the file type, not the extension and has an option to handle cases like yours (as well as stacks). You have to tell it which collection contains the sourc files, and which contains the target files.
Since you bring it up, I was playing with that today for a blog post in a few weeks time, but I couldn't get it to work. I'd put the duplicate photos in QC, selected them... but it wouldn't let me tell it which collection contains the source files, because it said they were all in one collection. You can tell me to go read the documentation... but what was I missing?
 
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
5,422
Location
London
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Ah, that may because you have to select both (or all) sources.

I've always been over-cautious syncing files of the same type, and for a long time the plugin only allowed it when the names differed. So when I added the source option, I didn't want to make it too easy to really mess up your catalogue ;)

John
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,545
Location
Isle of Wight, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Top