• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.
  • The February 2020 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic has a brand new Defaults system, the ability to set a specific monitor for the secondary window and PSB format support. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has the ability to import presets on Android, DNG export and Split View support on iPadOS. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.

Copy Settings Pop Up

Mardi Carter

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
9.1
Operating System
macOS 10.15 Catalina
Why does the Copy Settings dialog box pop up every time I hold the mouse down a little longer that Lr thinks I should? i.e. I may be working to get the crop just right and suddenly this big box pops up in the way. Annoying.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,168
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Weird. My best guess would be some kind of accessibility feature in macOS. It’s not a known LR issue.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,168
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
The OS accessibility settings are in system preferences. They're my best guess.
 

Mardi Carter

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I found them and they are all greyed out: AEServer, √CopyPaste Pro.app, √Dropbox, √Malwarebytes
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,168
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Wrong spot Mardi, keep looking. It's System Preferences > Accessibility and it has things like Keyboard and Pointer Control listed down the left hand side.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
22,168
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Cloud Service
Play with the settings. It's a wild guess that that's the cause, because I'm 99% sure this is an OS level issue rather than a Lightroom one.

The other possibility is something like a Wacom or mouse driver that's interfering.
 

Mardi Carter

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
I hope I am not speaking too soon. I got an update on the OS last night and the problem seems to have resolved. Thank you for taking the time to try to help solve the problem.
 

Mardi Carter

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Unfortunately it came back later that afternoon. I spent a session with Apple and they had me restart my computer in SafeMode. It seemed to work fine. Now I am back in Normal Mode, but haven't had time to work on Lr yet. I'll let you know if the fix was really a fix.
 

Mardi Carter

New Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2016
Messages
15
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Now I have been working in Lr for a couple of hours doing a lot of editing. No pop-up. So happy. I have no idea when SafeMode did, but it seems to have worked.
 
Top