• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The May 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. There's a brand new slider called Texture, available across the whole family of apps. Lightroom Classic includes a new tool called Flat Field Correction. Lightroom (cloud-based service) has lots of big improvements including cloud trash, invitation-only web galleries, improved chromatic aberration removal and more. The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes. You'll also notice the CC's have disappeared off the end of the names, so we've updated the forum names to match.

copy entire publishing service (settings) between catalogues

JMtB-TLQ

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Lightroom Version
most recent
Operating System
Windows 10
In my main catalog I have spent quite a bit of time setting up different publishing services (websites, Instagram, Irista etc.).
Now I want to publish some pictures residing in another catalog. but the publishing services there seem to have to be setup all over again....
Shouldn't be hard to grab&copy their settings, or link the other catalog to them. To be clear: I am not looking for the "Create another Publish Service",
because that does not help if you want to use the same settings/locations to publish.
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,293
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
The Publish Service settings are stored in the catalog file. There is no mechanism to transfer these to another catalog. Probably one of the reasons that it is recommended to have one and only one master catalog. Your solution is to use the Export as a Catalog function to create a catalog of the images that you wish to publish. Then in the Master catalog with the publish Services intact, use the Import for another catalog to import this exported catalog and them publish these images.
 

LouieSherwin

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
1,450
Location
Encinitas, CA USA
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
While there is not a way to do this built into Lightroom there is a plugin that will do this, lrvoyager from alloyphoto.com.

As Cletus says it still is advisable to generally keep a one catalog workflow as that is the easiest way to work. But if you really need to move your published services then this is the tool.

Read the documentation and proceed cautiously after a full backup.

-louie
 

JMtB-TLQ

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Thank you both very much, I will gladly give both options a try.
 

JMtB-TLQ

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2019
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
Sorry, editing the above timed-out, so here's another try:

Thank you both very much.
High time this shortcoming was fixed because there obviously is no good reason not to.

I never understood the one catalog philosophy, as long as thousands of pictures keep getting reported as missing (the infamous!) either because of NAS storage re-connection issues or temporary off-lineness of separate media, and take hours to find and "un-exclamate" even though their location is known exactly.

Lightroom itself would seem unattractive as a Publishing Service because of it's all-or-nothing approach to separately protected albums. Which means external (additional) publishing directly from Lightroom is becoming more and more important, including increasingly time consuming safety measures (authentication procedures.

As I read the plugin's documentation LRVOYAGER does not help, since it it about published (-ED) pictures, whereas I only want to avoid the tedious process of setting up a publish service that is already working in one catalog, when making/using another catalog. I fail to see why the fact that they are stored in (the first) catalog file should in itself be reason why they cannot be copied.

For now Cletus' solution seems the only "workaround";):(
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,659
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
While there is not a way to do this built into Lightroom there is a plugin that will do this, lrvoyager from alloyphoto.com.

As Cletus says it still is advisable to generally keep a one catalog workflow as that is the easiest way to work. But if you really need to move your published services then this is the tool.

Read the documentation and proceed cautiously after a full backup.

-louie
Louie and everyone else,

The Windows version of this plug-in was flagged by my security software as having a virus. I left a comment about that on the web page.

Phil Burton
 

clee01l

Senior Member
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jun 20, 2009
Messages
14,293
Location
Houston, TX USA
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 8
"In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all, and in the darkness bind them,

In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie."

One Catalog to rule them all, One Catalog to find them. You can not search across catalogs. Keywords in one catalog do not show up in other catalogs nor do Develop presets or other presets for that matter. Unless you have some Business full that requires separation of client data, there is no purpose for multiple master catalogs.

If you only work with one catalog AND never access your original image files outside of that DAM tool called Lightroom, you will never have missing images do to user mistakes. While you can misplace image in a Windows environment, this is due to the Designated Drive letter designed into the Windows Operating system. There are well documented procedures to prevent this design weakness in the Windows OS.
 
Top