Conveting V 1.4.1 catalog to V 2.0

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denis de Gannes

DdeGannes
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
1,129
Location
Republic of Trinidad & Tobago
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic
I presently use v 1.4.1 for my processing of raw files.
Recently installed the trial version of v 2.' but ellected not to convert my existing v 1.4.1 catalog.
I now have purchased a license for v 2.' how do I proceed to now upgrade my catalog?
Will the process leave a copy of my catalog in place so that I can use V 1.4.1 if needed?
I have a small v 2.' catalog that has info on files that are also in the v 1.4.1 should I delete the v 2.' catalog?
 
File > Open Catalog. It creates a version 2 catalogue and leaves the 1.41 version where it is. Delete your test 2.' catalogue if you don't want to confuse yourself.

John
 
PC or Mac makes no difference.
 
Had Denis needed to import BOTH v1 and Beta catalogues, what would have actually happened on import of both? Would any differing changes made in both versions on the same file, for example, contain ALL the changes?
 
I'm absolutely positive that there wouldn't be a 'syncing' of the changes/adjustments.

Without actually testing, I expect that the second import would identify the duplicate images*, and not import them, if you have the 'don't import suspected duplicates' turned on. If that option were off, I expect you'd end up with the two folder hierarchies in parallel. That presumes that you copied/created a separate folder structure for the Beta catalog as recommended. If you had the same folders imported in both catalogs, I'm not sure what would happen.

If anybody's actually tried it, let us know.


*Suspected duplicates are id'd by matching original filename, EXIF capture date, and file length (courtesy VB's eBook).
 
johnbeardy;187'2 said:
File > Open Catalog. It creates a version 2 catalogue and leaves the 1.41 version where it is. Delete your test 2.' catalogue if you don't want to confuse yourself.

John

a. Should I delete the test 2 catalog in Windows explorer or is there a way to do this in LR 2??

b. Before converting the v 1.4.1 catalog or after??.

I am trying to avoid any problems since I read of so many people having problems with their upgrade on the User to User forums.
I begin a three day golf tournament project tomorrow and would like to use LR 2.'.
 
a. Delete it in Explorer

b. Doesn't really matter.
 
Very sensible Denis! ;) :D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top