• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • You may have noticed this website was offline on Saturday 22nd September. Our web host suffered what is known as "a perfect storm". Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. As a result of restoring backups, we appear to have lost about 18 hours of posts, but hopefully nothing more. If your post seems to have been affected, please do repost, and we look forward to helping. If you have any questions, you're welcome to use the Contact Webmaster link on the page footer.
  • Lightroom Classic 7.5 and Lightroom CC 1.5 have just gone live, and there's some exciting mobile updates to follow. And the big news... my Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro book has just been released too!

Contour Design ShuttlePRO question

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,359
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#51
@Victoria Bampton - I know your settings are posted on the site - but any chance of putting up the settings export file so it can just be imported rather than having to recreate it ourselves?
Sure, here's the Mac ones: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/459889/Shuttle/Lightroom.shuttleSettings
I used to put them on the main web page, but it was a pain to keep testing the Windows version.

Any idea if there's any progress on changing module and changing settings at the same time?
I suggested it to the developer when he came to visit me a couple of months ago, but I haven't heard anything more on it.
 

snapper

Active Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
120
Location
nr. Reading
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
#52
Thanks Victoria - kept searching the blog pages to find the links!
I might post my workaround on their forums - perhaps give them a small nudge
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
48
Location
Exmouth, Devon
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#53
I've just read the review by Camera Jabber on the Palette system. Palette Gear Expert Kit Review | Camera Jabber I've commented on their FB page about lack of information in the review about use with LR and asked whether possible to have controls assigned differently in each of the LR modules. I mention it here because if they have cracked it, then it ought to be possible to do the same with the Shuttle Pro. It is over 4x priced of the Shuttle.
Having then looked on the Palette website & watched a video, it seems that you can have different/multiple profiles for LR & thereby set of functions for the controls in each module. However you need to switch between them. Colour coding is helpful touch, but ability to name them also welcome as is use of one of the buttons to toggle to next profile. Palette Gear
In light of this, perhaps Contour might be able to modify their control software to enable similar functionality with readily switchable presets for their Shuttle Pro.
 

Victoria Bampton

Lightroom Queen
Staff member
Administrator
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Sep 29, 2007
Messages
20,359
Location
Southampton, UK
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
CC Cloud
#54
Palette are using the SDK which gives direct access to the sliders, and if I remember rightly, you can use a button to switch between different "sets" of sliders, like you can with the Shuttle. I do have one in my drawer, and reviewed it briefly here: Lightroom gadgets - rest of the field | The Lightroom Queen
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
48
Location
Exmouth, Devon
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#55
Thanks Victoria - I've missed the bit about being able to use button to swap between sets of sliders with the Shuttle, else I wouldn't have flagged it up here, since I thought it was advantageous over Shuttle. I think the Palette is v desk space hungry and not convinced it'll be faster than existing controls.
 

Myweb

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#56
Hello,

I am developing a lightroom Plugin to support Contour Shuttle native.
Also I am extending Shuttle keys actions:
1. My Plugin will support combination of Shuttle keys pressed: like on keyboard:
Hold one button and press another – separate key combination or “virtual” like Shift, Ctrl, Alt on regular keyboard
2. Key combinations will also be possible with the Jog:
– Hold one Shuttle key and rotate Jog – for example: loop through basic adjustment parameters (Temp, Exposure, Clarity, …)
– Hold another Shuttle key and rotate Jog – some other actions
3. Multiple actions per combination and layout (key assignment) switching:
Press Shuttle key (or Combination) and Lightroom will be switched to Develop module. Shuttle layout will be changed to Development layout.
Please let me know if you are interested in such addon.
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,383
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#57
Hello,

I am developing a lightroom Plugin to support Contour Shuttle native.
Also I am extending Shuttle keys actions:
1. My Plugin will support combination of Shuttle keys pressed: like on keyboard:
Hold one button and press another – separate key combination or “virtual” like Shift, Ctrl, Alt on regular keyboard
2. Key combinations will also be possible with the Jog:
– Hold one Shuttle key and rotate Jog – for example: loop through basic adjustment parameters (Temp, Exposure, Clarity, …)
– Hold another Shuttle key and rotate Jog – some other actions
3. Multiple actions per combination and layout (key assignment) switching:
Press Shuttle key (or Combination) and Lightroom will be switched to Develop module. Shuttle layout will be changed to Development layout.
Please let me know if you are interested in such addon.
Sounds good. Add in ability to configure, save, and load multiple settings, beyond just Library (?) and Develop, and I would probably buy a Shuttle.

If you could do a deal with Amazon or B&H Photo (US) for a discount on the Shutttle as part of a bundle, then that would be great.

Phil
 

Myweb

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#58
If you could do a deal with Amazon or B&H Photo (US) for a discount on the Shutttle as part of a bundle, then that would be great.

Phil
Hi Phil,

I am not related to Contour therefore it is impossible to do any deal with Amazon or B&H Photo. I am developing the Lightroom Plugin for myself and open source/free in case if anybody get interested and/or is ready for help.

Sounds good. Add in ability to configure, save, and load multiple settings, beyond just Library (?) and Develop, and I would probably buy a Shuttle.
Actually it is ready. I have no graphical interface to configure, but all settings are stored in text file that could be modified. The Lightroom plugin read the configuration file during every execution.

I understand that editing of file might be not convenient but in the same I do it for free and I have a lot of functionality to be implemented at first.

Configuration file looks:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<cereal>
    <value0 size="dynamic">
        <value0>
            <key>Library</key>
            <value size="dynamic">
                <value0>
                    <key>Jog_Left</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ActiveDevelopParam = -</value0>
                    </value>
                </value0>
                <value1>
                    <key>Button_9+Jog_Left</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>SwitchAdjustParam = -</value0>
                    </value>
                </value1>
                <value2>
                    <key>Jog_Right</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ActiveDevelopParam = +</value0>
                    </value>
                </value2>
                <value3>
                    <key>Button_9+Jog_Right</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>SwitchAdjustParam = +</value0>
                    </value>
                </value3>
                <value4>
                    <key>Button_9+Button_7</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ShuttleSwitchToLibrary</value0>
                        <value1>SwitchToModule = library</value1>
                    </value>
                </value4>
                <value5>
                    <key>Button_9+Button_8</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ShuttleSwitchToDevelop</value0>
                        <value1>SwitchToModule = develop</value1>
                    </value>
                </value5>
            </value>
        </value0>
        <value1>
            <key>Develop</key>
            <value size="dynamic">
                <value0>
                    <key>Jog_Left</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ActiveDevelopParam = -</value0>
                    </value>
                </value0>
                <value1>
                    <key>Button_9+Jog_Left</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>SwitchAdjustParam = -</value0>
                    </value>
                </value1>
                <value2>
                    <key>Jog_Right</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ActiveDevelopParam = +</value0>
                    </value>
                </value2>
                <value3>
                    <key>Button_9+Jog_Right</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>SwitchAdjustParam = +</value0>
                    </value>
                </value3>
                <value4>
                    <key>Button_9+Button_7</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ShuttleSwitchToLibrary</value0>
                        <value1>SwitchToModule = library</value1>
                    </value>
                </value4>
                <value5>
                    <key>Button_9+Button_8</key>
                    <value size="dynamic">
                        <value0>ShuttleSwitchToDevelop</value0>
                        <value1>SwitchToModule = develop</value1>
                    </value>
                </value5>
            </value>
        </value1>
    </value0>
</cereal>
 

PhilBurton

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,383
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#59
Hi Phil,

I am not related to Contour therefore it is impossible to do any deal with Amazon or B&H Photo. I am developing the Lightroom Plugin for myself and open source/free in case if anybody get interested and/or is ready for help.
Understood.
Actually it is ready. I have no graphical interface to configure, but all settings are stored in text file that could be modified. The Lightroom plugin read the configuration file during every execution.

I understand that editing of file might be not convenient but in the same I do it for free and I have a lot of functionality to be implemented at first.
I think the geekiest among us would be comfortable editing that file. That would exclude almost everyone on this forum (but not me actually). May I offer some suggestions that would make the XML file editable by the more technical among us, with some technical skills.

Comment every single line that can be edited. XML Comments
Suggest the way to edit this XML file. Is it a simple text editor like Notepad in Windows, or something else?

Victoria, Is it practical to have a forum section devoted to configuration files for this application (or other software that supports hardware assists to Lightroom work)?

Phil Burton
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
48
Location
Exmouth, Devon
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#60
Thanks for new information. I’m definitely interested in getting this going. However I’ve just moved house & all computer gear is in ‘kit’ form in boxes & lots of unattached wiring! Neither do I have internet thanks to BT being their usual selves.... would expect to be up & running in couple of weeks
 

Myweb

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#61
Hi Everyone,

Finally I get of initial version out: abrilevskiy/LightroomShuttlePro
Works for Windows only since I am Windows user and have no Mac, but may be I will find a way how to make in for Mac also.
 

Myweb

New Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2018
Messages
5
Lightroom Experience
Beginner
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#63
Is anybody using Windows with the Shuttle Pro ? :)
Have anyone tried the Plug-in?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2013
Messages
48
Location
Exmouth, Devon
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#64
Thanks for doing all of this work for the Shuttle Pro. Sorry for late response, I've been on other tasks and until now have not found time to read what you've done and watch the video. I'm a Mac user, so will not be able to install and test/use at the moment. You mention development of a UI to help change things round, that'd would be really useful for me. I haven't done any computer coding since FORTRAN at University in early 1980s! Though I did think I could follow what you showed in the video & could amend once, I'd got better appreciation of what is going on and how to edit.
I would use Shuttle differently from you, but that's part of its appeal! For instance, I prefer pick & reject, only rarely using star ratings of picture.
Have you found a good increase in speed with the Shuttle controlling exposure & other settings over mouse and slider? If so, is there any difference in finesse?
The other thing I'd like to change would be having it set up for left hand use, so mirroring the functions of thumb buttons, I can see it works well as you've demonstrated it.
Baxter
 
Top