• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The December 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic is just bug fixes and new cameras in this release, but it fixes a whole load of macOS Catalina issues.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options and direct import on iOS and the ability to contribute photos to someone else's account from the desktop/mobile apps.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Confusion on Transfering Catalogs Between Computers

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic CC v7.5
Operating System
macOS 10.13 High Sierra
This is likely a remedial question. This is the first time that I have transferred a LR catalog from one computer to another. Specifically, I returned from a trip to Sicily where I backed up all of my images into LR on my MacBook. This enabled me to keyword my images & to add meaningful captions. When I returned home, I transferred the catalog on the MacBook onto my desktop iMac. All seemed to have gone well.

Then it occurred to me that in transferring the catalog I only transferred the metadata associated with the images; and not the images themselves. Actually, I really wanted to transfer the images themselves onto the internal drive of my iMac so that all of my LR images are in one location. How can I do this?

Thank you kindly.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,390
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
The easiest way is to copy the images to the iMac manually. Then open Lightroom, right-click on the folder of the images in Lightroom (that folder should show as 'missing' because it's a folder on the MacBook). Choose 'Find Missing Folder' and in the dialog that comes up, navigate to the folder you just copied to the iMac and select it. Done.
 

Zenon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2017
Messages
1,491
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
When I travel I take a laptop and an external drive. I create a new catalogue and I name it based on the trip. The catalogue resides on the HD and the files on the ED. When I get home I copy the catalogue to the ED and plug it into the iMac. I then use the Import From Another Catalogue, LR adds the travel catalogue to the master catalogue and moves the files. All edits are retained. Not sure if that is what you are looking for but just another option. I love it.
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Johan: Please excuse my ignorance since I have never done this before. First, bit of clarification. I first exported the catalog on the MacBook to a thumb drive. Then I connected the thumb drive to the iMac & imported the catalog. When I go to Folders on the iMac, the transferred catalog appears as a separate volume with a "?" -- which I assume means that the files themselves are missing (i.e. are still on the MacBook). Am I correct?

How do I manually transfer the images files themselves from the MacBook to the iMac? Sorry for being so thick-headed.
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thanks, Johan. To copy the images in the folder, can I simply go to Folders & select the relevant folder; then Ctrl-Click & select Export this Folder as a Catalog?
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thank you. Image files & catalog seem to be in their proper location on the iMac.

However, the next time that I transfer the image files & the catalog from one computer to another, what would be the preferred way to transfer both simultaneously? Thank you!
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,937
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
9,390
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Thank you. Image files & catalog seem to be in their proper location on the iMac.
However, the next time that I transfer the image files & the catalog from one computer to another, what would be the preferred way to transfer both simultaneously? Thank you!
Just copy both the catalog folder and the images folder to the thumbdrive.
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thank you, Jim & Johan. This all seems straight-forward thanks to you help.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,970
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Just copy both the catalog folder and the images folder to the thumbdrive.
If you have a router then you can use WiFi to copy both folders from the old system's drive directly to the new system's drive. If you had a Windows PC, then I would also say that you need to "share" the drives on each system to make them visible to the other system in the "network view." I don't know the equivalent approach for MacOS, but the concept should be similar.

Do a COPY, not a MOVE, of the folders in question. Delete the folders on the old system only after you can start Lightroom on the new system and you are sure that you can work with the catalog and images.

Phil Burton
 

kitjv

Active Member
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
225
Location
Oregon, U.S.A.
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Thanks, Phil. I just need to see which option works best for me.
 
Top