• Welcome to the Lightroom Queen Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to post your first thread under Help at the bottom of the page. You're also welcome to download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBooks and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • The November 2019 Lightroom updates are now available. Lightroom Classic includes the ability to export the same photos as multiple sizes/formats in a single export, content aware fill for panorama edges and more. It does require a catalog format upgrade and there are updated system requirements, so you may want to wait a few days before upgrading.
    Lightroom (cloud-based service) has export options (such as TIFF format, renaming and color space), custom sort order on the desktop, copy/paste to multiple photos on iOS and more.
    The Missing FAQ and Edit Like a Pro eBooks are already updated for the changes.
  • Stop struggling with Lightroom! There's no need to spend hours hunting for the answers to your Lightroom Classic questions. All the information you need is in Adobe Lightroom Classic - The Missing FAQ!

    To help you get started, there's a series of easy tutorials to guide you through a simple workflow. As you grow in confidence, the book switches to a conversational FAQ format, so you can quickly find answers to advanced questions. And better still, the eBooks are updated for every release, so it's always up to date.

Conflicting metadata problem

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
186
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
8.3
Operating System
macOS 10.14 Mojave
Hey,

I've just imported approximately 5000 mostly heic photos from my iPhone into Lightroom. For some reason a lot of them are showing the following icon in the corner of their previews:


12724


If i click on the icon I get this message:

12725


Just to be on the safeside, I click "Import settings from disk" and the icon is replaced by this one:


12726


When clicking on that one I get this message:

12727


and the loop begins again.

Any ideas how I can solve this?

Thanks,
Neil
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2010
Messages
11,747
Location
West Sussex, UK
Lightroom Experience
Advanced
Lightroom Version

rctneil

Active Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2012
Messages
186
Location
Cheshire
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Thanks for this. Hopefully there is a fix in the next version.
 

PhilBurton

Lightroom enthusiast (but still learning)
Premium Classic Member
Premium Cloud Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2015
Messages
1,842
Location
California, USA
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic
Thanks for this. Hopefully there is a fix in the next version.
If you read the various comments for this issue on the Adobe forum, you would not be optimistic about a fix any time soon.
The challenge for Adobe, and all software companies, is prioritizing the list of new features and bug fixes for the next release. Some bug fixes may perpetually be lower down on the list than some new feature that has to be developed now.

Adobe now seems to release new versions on a two month cadence. For a piece of software as complex as Lightroom (and ignoring the cloudy version),that doesn't provide much time for actual software code development. And since Lightroom has to run on both Windows and MacOS, testing has to take up a significant part of that two months.

Phil
 

lowolf

New Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
13
This is normal and no update is going to correct it, if you look in Metadata panel showing it ,will tell you what app might of caused this issue.
EXample is Photoshop simply select read from disk this issue has occurred since LR 1.
 
Top