• Welcome to Lightroom Forums! We're a friendly bunch, so please feel free to register and join in the conversation. If you're not familiar with forums, you'll find step by step instructions on how to register and post your first thread under Help on the menubar above. You're also welcome to join our newsletter, download our free Lightroom Quick Start eBook and explore our other FAQ resources.
  • You may have noticed this website was offline on Saturday 22nd September. Our web host suffered what is known as "a perfect storm". Everything that could go wrong, did go wrong. As a result of restoring backups, we appear to have lost about 18 hours of posts, but hopefully nothing more. If your post seems to have been affected, please do repost, and we look forward to helping. If you have any questions, you're welcome to use the Contact Webmaster link on the page footer.
  • Lightroom Classic 7.5 and Lightroom CC 1.5 have just gone live, and there's some exciting mobile updates to follow. And the big news... my Lightroom CC - Edit Like a Pro book has just been released too!

Computer crashed while working in Lightroom. Now I cannot open my catalog

Bernice

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#1
Lightroom Version
Lightroom Classic CC
Operating System
Windows 10
My computer crashed while I had lightroom open to my catalog-6. After restarting my computer (a couple of times), I still get the message that the catalog is open in another version of Lightroom and I need to close that version. I do not have another version on my computer and I really need to get to those photos. Can anyone help? this is the message I get
Thanks for your help
1523848252645.png
 

JohanElzenga

Lightroom Guru
Staff member
Moderator
Lightroom Guru
Joined
Jul 2, 2015
Messages
7,490
Location
Netherlands
Lightroom Experience
Power User
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#2
That is because a special .lock file has remained in your catalog folder. In order to prevent two applications to open the catalog at the same time, Lightroom creates a file with the .lock extension in your catalog folder. That file is automatically deleted when Lightroom quits normally, but remains when it crashes. So go to that folder and trash that file.
 

Bernice

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2018
Messages
2
Lightroom Experience
Intermediate
Lightroom Version
Classic 7
#3
That is because a special .lock file has remained in your catalog folder. In order to prevent two applications to open the catalog at the same time, Lightroom creates a file with the .lock extension in your catalog folder. That file is automatically deleted when Lightroom quits normally, but remains when it crashes. So go to that folder and trash that file.[
Thank you so much!! It worked
 
Top